Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Album Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Contact KZSU Music
login  (help)
Jay Som / Everybody Works
Album:Everybody Works Collection:General
Artist:Jay Som Added:03/2017
Label:Polyvinyl Record Co. 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2017-03-15 Pull Date:2017-05-17 
Week Ending:21 May14 May7 May30 Apr23 Apr16 Apr9 Apr2 Apr

Recent Airplay
1.Sun, 25 Feb 18:JaDaPaKa
Moonrise Kingdom
4.Fri, 12 Jan 18:Francis D
KZSU Time Traveler (Top 39 of 2017)
2.Mon, 19 Feb 18:amy cummings
new year, new me
5.Mon, 01 Jan 18:amy cummings
National Treasure
3.Mon, 15 Jan 18:amy cummings
National Treasure
6.Wed, 20 Dec 17:Super Chuck
The Fuzz Deli

Album Review
Super Chuck
Reviewed 2017-03-13 
Everybody Works is the next logical half-step from this band debut, Turn Into. Jay Som (aka Melina Duterte) is one of those multi-hyphenate artists whose creative process feels less like she’s a singer-songwriter-producer. The songs on Everybody Works range from the asymmetrical, creepy, with its minor key, experimental, stripped-down sonics, to the far more traditional mid-tempo rock of the title cut.

Like: Alex G, Infinity Girl, Wildhoney, early Mac DeMarco.

Play any/all.

1. Lipstick Stains (1:52) intro song, slow and beautiful.
2. ***The Bus Song (3:37) Medium tempo, happy vibe, mellow.
3. **Remain (2:19) Short, slow.
4. ***1 Billion Dogs (2:44) Strong guitars, awesome guitar solo, reminds me The Pixies.
5. One More Time Please (3:42) Indie pop, mid tempo, laid back.
6.** Baybee (3:45) Indie Pop, feel good song.
7. (BedHead) (3:26) Slow gaze.
8. ***Take It (3:20) Mid tempo, strong guitars, great progressions.
9. ***Everybody Works (3:29) Pure dream pop.
10. For Light (7:23) A slow night full of bright stars.

Track Listing
1.Lipstick Stains 6.Baybee
2.The Bus Song 7.(Bedhead)
3.Remain 8.Take It
4.1 Billion Dogs 9.Everybody Works
5.One More Time, Please 10.For Light