Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Album Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Contact KZSU Music
login  (help)
Balustrade Ensemble, The / Capsules
Album:Capsules Collection:General
Artist:Balustrade Ensemble, The Added:10/2007
Label:Ominous Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2008-02-18 Pull Date:2008-04-21 
Week Ending:6 Apr23 Mar2 Mar24 Feb

Recent Airplay
1.Thu, 08 Feb 18:M A R G Y
Galactic Travel Playlists
4.Wed, 27 Feb 08:mike
Baptism of Solitude
2.Sun, 30 Mar 08:michaelu
Noise for your soul
5.Wed, 27 Feb 08:Francis D
Time Traveler
3.Wed, 19 Mar 08:Francis D
Time Traveler
6.Wed, 20 Feb 08:Your Imaginary Friend
Brownian Motion

Album Review
Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Reviewed 2008-02-03 
Excellent local acoustic/classical group with a penchant for experimental pieces and structures. Very expressive and evocative mixing ethereal, warm, organic and all together beautiful sounds. It’s incredible to hear how consistently good this is. Features Grant Miller of Mandible Chatter, Scott Solter of Tarantel and vocals by Wendy Allen among others.

(((((1))))) Airy female vocals with lots of acoustic guitars, pedal steel, some sampling and a lot of natural reverberations.
(((((((2)))))) Wow! Incredible, warm sounding with short strums, softly played percussion (sort of like a higher pitched xylophone which might be this thing called “orchestron”).
(((((3))))) Sparse chords, later more operatic and hazy like a “dusty black and white” movie or slide show.
(((((4))))) Airy ambience played over slightly crunchy distortion. Fairly short.
((((((5))))) Straight ahead acoustic guitar playing – pretty simple chords that resonate brightly & memorably.
(((((6))))) Drony ambience, shifts from one channel to the next, later become cello/guitar/voice focused.
(((((7)))) High pitched drone working with several layers. Becomes a lot louder near the end.
(((((8))))) More acoustic guitars, claviola and a few other interesting layers.
((((9)))) Minimal ambience with a rickety woodsy feel or maybe some odd bird making sounds in the background.
(((((10)))) Random samples and noise then acoustic guitars, backtracking all with a very nice near pop ballad structure.

Track Listing
1.Glorlanders 6.Fall Away Into Darkness
2.The Drowning Calm 7.A Long Fetch Over
3.Tangle In Delirium 8.The Museums Of Sleep
4.Synnoveskeie 9.Crushed Pears
5.Incarnadine 10.Szol A Zene