Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
A-File
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Carolina Story / Dandelion
Album:Dandelion Collection:Country
Artist:Carolina Story Added:02/2021
Label:Black River Americana 

 Recent Airplay
1.Dec 06, 2021:Traditions (rebroadcast from Dec 3, 2021)
Lay Me Down Easy
4.Sep 11, 2021:Hanging in the bone yard
Lay Me Down Easy
2.Dec 03, 2021:Traditions
Lay Me Down Easy
5.Apr 17, 2021:Hanging in the bone yard
Lay Me Down Easy
3.Nov 01, 2021:Hanging in the bone yard
Lay Me Down Easy
6.Mar 06, 2021:Hanging In The Bone Yard
Don't Leave Me In The Morning

Album Review
Mr. Bones
Reviewed 2021-03-02 
In their sophomore release, Emily and Ben Roberts serve up a unique blend of psych-folk & country that would nicely complement any Indie/Americana show. The disk is themed around the Dandelion, that beautiful, yet gritty wildflower that perseveres even under the harshest conditions. As such the tracks cover issues central to the human condition such as loneliness, depression and poverty. It does so though with an underlying sense of optimism driven by the enchanting tandem vocals of this husband/wife team which in turn are deftly complemented by violins, mellotron, cello and harmonica.

RIYL: Lumineers, Lord Huron, Tom Petty, Byrds

1 Light of the Moon - haunting slide guitar and tandem vocal opening with increasing tempo (med, 3:17)***
2 Lay Me Down - blissful tale of persevering through adversity with slide dancing around the vocals (med, 3:49)***
3 See You When I See You - pop-tinged story of a deteriorating friendship with ER on vocals and BR's harmonica (med, 4:54)
4 Hold Of Me - mid-tempo country rocker with BR on vocals & blistering guitar break (med, 3:12)*
5 Wildflower - soft pop sound (slow, 4:41)
6 Time Well Spent - finger picked guitar over BR vocals and string accents (slow, 3:40)
7 Dandelion - flower as a metaphor about perseverance with nice harmonica work (med, 3:42)*
8 Long Black Train - BR's deep vocals nicely complimented by a jangly guitar & harmonica (med, 4:14)**
9 Daylight - slow & dreamy, Neil Young sort of intro with shared vocals (slow, 3:30)**
10 I Wish It Would Rain - Fleetwood Mac like pop number (med, 3:39)
11 Don't Leave Me - ER on vocals with exquisite string accents (slow, 4:27)***
12 Carolina - folky vocals over an acoustic guitar (slow, 3:20) -

Track Listing
1.Light Of The Moon 
7.Dandelion
2.Lay Me Down Easy 
8.Long Black Train
3.See You When I See You 
9.Daylight
4.Hold Of Me 
10.I Wish It Would Rain
5.Wildflower 
11.Don't Leave Me In The Morning
6.Time Well Spent 
12.Carolina