Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
A-File
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Reds, Pinks & Purples, The / Summer at Land's End
Album:Summer at Land's End Collection:General
Artist:Reds, Pinks & Purples, The Added:02/2022
Label:Slumberland Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2022-03-06 Pull Date:2022-05-08 
Week Ending:8 May1 May24 Apr17 Apr3 Apr27 Mar20 Mar
Airplays:2112122

 Recent Airplay
1.May 19, 2022:Stranded at Settembrini's (rebroadcast from Apr 14, 2022)
Summer at Land's End
4.May 08, 2022:Alien Hour
Let's Pretend We're Not in Love, Don't Come Home Too Soon
2.May 15, 2022:Lunar Echoes
Summer at Land's End
5.May 07, 2022:Lunar Echoes
Let's Pretend We're Not in Love
3.May 14, 2022:Music Casserole
Let's Pretend We're Not in Love
6.May 04, 2022:Some Songs Without Words
Upside Down in an Empty Room

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2022-03-15 
LOCAL! Also spectacularly good! Gentle, romantic slice-of-heaven guitar pop from the Inner Richmond neighborhood in San Francisco. Sweet and delicious, like rose-flavored ice cream. Wistful, too. Written, performed, and recorded by Glenn Donaldson, who's been in 75,000 California bands and projects (among others the Jewelled Antler collective, the Skygreen Leopards, FWY!, Art Museums). Painfully pretty, riding the edge between bliss and heartbreak. Captures the feeling of walking around western San Francisco better than any other music I know. RIYL other Slumberland bands, C86 revivalism, Sarah Records, early Byrds, Real Estate, The Go-Betweens, The Fresh & Onlys. Favorites 1, 2, 7, 10, 11 (but all are fabulous, I want to live in these songs). FCC WARNING: 4.

1. *(3:12)—Medium-fast. Serene na-na-nas, soft strumming, subtle beat. "Still I miss you more, I miss you more, but don't come home too soon."
2. *(3:06)—Medium-fast, animated, sunny. "Swear there was a light behind your eyes / can't hang onto a dream, when you try you won't make it out alive."
3. (2:53)—Mid-tempo. Tom-heavy beat, wobbly lead guitar.
4. (2:21)—FCC (f***). Mid-tempo, strummy, with just tambourine for percussion.
5. (7:02)—Instrumental. Slow, downcast. Ringing guitar strumming.
6. (4:10)—Mid-tempo. Grand, with an especially memorable lead guitar line. Long coda. "All this time spent learning how to swim / through open clouds, pour the light in."
7. *(2:42)—Mid-tempo. Smooth and soothing, with wonderful vocal harmonies. Transcendent.
8. (3:05)—Mid-tempo, approaching post-punk. Wispy keyboard melody.
9. (3:15)—Medium-slow, relaxed. Soft beat, pleasant washes of melodic guitar feedback.
10. *(2:37)—Instrumental. Slow, striding, slightly dubby beat. Totally gorgeous chord progression and guitar melody. Triumphant slow-walk music.
11. *(1:56)—Medium-slow. Desolate guitar strumming, with pained but restrained electric guitar textures behind. A devastating and perfect way to end.

Track Listing
1.Don't Come Home Too Soon 
6.Pour the Light In
2.Let's Pretend We're Not in Love 
7.All Night We Move
3.New Light 
8.Tell Me What's Real
4.My Soul Unburdened 
9.Upside Down in an Empty Room
5.Summer at Land's End 
10.Dahlias in Rain
 
11.I'd Rather Not Go Your Way