Gorillaz / Cracker Island
Album: Cracker Island   Collection:General
Artist: Gorillaz   Added:Feb 2023
Label: Warner Bros. Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-03-30 Pull Date: 2023-06-01
Week Ending: May 21 May 14 May 7 Apr 30 Apr 23 Apr 16 Apr 9 Apr 2
Airplays: 2 2 2 4 4 2 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 25, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Skinny Ape
4. Jun 30, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Cracker Island (Feat. Thundercat)
2. Aug 10, 2023: down in the basement
Oil (Feat. Stevie Nicks)
5. Jun 10, 2023: Music Casserole
Skinny Ape, Oil (Feat. Stevie Nicks)
3. Jul 21, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Skinny Ape
6. Jun 09, 2023: Totally A
Oil (Feat. Stevie Nicks)

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2023-03-11
“Cracker Island” Gorillaz
English multi-instrumentalist, Damon Albarn, and his musical project, Gorillaz, are back with their 8th album. A virtual band made up of four animated characters, on Cracker Island Gorillaz continues to synthesize alt rock, hip hop and just a hint of dub into art pop songs with catchy melodies and danceable beats. This album draws inspiration from being largely recorded in L.A., rather than in London — and features guest artists such as Stevie Nicks, Thundercat, Kevin Parker (Tame Impala), Bad Bunny, Bootie Brown and Beck. Reviews have been mixed — some saying the act is getting a bit stale, but others saying it’s one of the artist’s best.
— Francis

Recommended: 1, 4, 9, 2, 8, 10. Radio edits on tracks 5 and 8.

1. (3:34) Cracker Island (Feat. Thundercat) — Toe-tapping synthpop, featuring Albarn on lead vocals with call-and-repeat backing vocals. Lyrics are about the characters falling under a cult’s spell. ****
2. (3:50) Oil (Feat. Stevie Nicks) — Up-tempo pop similar to a Fleetwood Mac tune, with flowing synths and Albarn on lead vocals and Stevie Nicks harmonizing. ***
3. (3:31) The Tired Influencer — Skipping trip-hop beat and wistful vocals — offset with rich harmonies, synth counterpoints and sampled voices.
4. (4:26) Silent Running (Feat. Adeleye Omotayo) — Swelling, mid-tempo ballad. Languid, soulful vocals rise and fall as Omotayo intertwines with Albarn. ****
5. (3:35) New Gold (Feat. Tame Impala and Bootie Brown) (Radio Edit) — Urgent, synth-powered hip hop — with airy choruses courtesy of Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker.
6. (3:40) Baby Queen — Swaying, dreamy and somewhat anthemic. Solid bass line, with handclaps providing added emphasis.
7. (3:32) Tarantula — Disco-influenced strut. Silky lead vocals and jazzy, soulful backing vocals. Synths and electric piano.
8. (3:14) Tormenta (Feat. Bad Bunny) (Radio Edit) — Smooth jazzy Latin number, with lyrics that are almost entirely in Spanish, effortlessly sung by Grammy-winning Bad Bunny. ***
9. (4:41) Skinny Ape — Interesting combination of a folksy vibe and dubstep beat. Extremely hooky melody. Builds to frantic, driving ending. ****
10. (3:26) Possession Island (Feat. Beck) — Soft, strummy closer with Beck. Piano and synth. Brass near the end. Quite nice. ***
11. (3:35) UNEDITED: New Gold (Feat. Tame Impala and Bootie Brown) — The unedited version of Track 5. FCCs: f-cking, bullshit.
12. (3:14) UNEDITED: Tormenta (Feat. Bad Bunny) — The unedited version of Track 8. FCC: “f-ck it” (lyrics in Spanish)

Track Listing
1. Cracker Island (Feat. Thundercat)   7. Tarantula
2. Oil (Feat. Stevie Nicks)   8. Tormenta (Feat. Bad Bunny) (Radio Edit)
3. The Tired Influencer   9. Skinny Ape
4. Silent Running (Feat. Adeleye Omotayo)   10. Possession Island (Feat. Beck)
5. New Gold (Feat. Tame Impala And Bootie Brown) (Radio Edit)   11. New Gold (Feat. Tame Impala And Bootie Brown) (Unedited)
6. Baby Queen   12. Tormenta (Feat. Bad Bunny) (Unedited)