Perfume Genius / Put Your Back N 2 It
Album: Put Your Back N 2 It   Collection:General
Artist:Perfume Genius   Added:Mar 2012
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-04-21 Pull Date: 2012-06-24
Week Ending: Jun 3 May 20 May 13 May 6 Apr 29
Airplays: 2 6 4 7 7

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 03, 2015: Moonlight Impressions
Normal Song
4. Jan 03, 2013: Top 100 Albums of 2012
Floating Spit
2. Apr 08, 2015: Moonlight Impressions
Normal Song
5. Jun 27, 2012: Meow After Midnight
Normal Song
3. Jan 19, 2013: (BE/WOR)ST OF 2012
No Tear
6. May 29, 2012: meow
Take Me Home

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-04-02
Fragile indie-rock from Seattle singer-songwriter Mike Hadreas. The follow-up to his well-received 2010 debut, this mature finely-crafted release establishes him as much more than the Sufjan Stevens knockoff many wrote him off as. For fans of Michigan, and Illinoise! as well as Cat Power and acoustic Thom Yorke. Two thumbs up. FCC CLEAN

1. Quiet piano intro with great orchestral swells. Takes about 10 seconds to really get going. *2. Fragile, downtemo acoustic ballad with a smoky nostalgic atmosphere. Nice haunting piano riffs. *3. Midtempo, almost anthemic with beautiful lyrics and ghastly mid-tempo vocal backups.
4. Floaty, airy piano ballad. 30-second droney outro. *5. Bright and powerful yet confessional. Strong chords and a great patchwork of instrumentation.
6. Muddy piano and a slow, crawling pace. Pained. *7. Catchy piano riffs, great vocal range. Excellent LOUDquietLOUD dynamics. 8. Dark, dense, swollen. Layered vocals for an extra dramatic effect. 9. Sparse tinkly piano and slow vocals. A surge of percussion. A bit too Volkswagon commercialy for me.
10. Slow, aching, minimalist with layered vocals for a ghosted effect. 11. Slowly churning drone and lo-fi vocals. A bit of Sandwell District percussion in there as well. 12. Outro. Extra deliberate and gentle.

Track Listing
1. Awol Marine   7. Dark Parts
2. Normal Song   8. All Waters
3. No Tear   9. Hood
4. 17   10. Put Your Back N 2 It
5. Take Me Home   11. Floating Spit
6. Dirge   12. Sister Song