Twilight Circus Dub Sound System / Sounds Of Twilight Circus
Album: Sounds Of Twilight Circus   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Twilight Circus Dub Sound System   Added:Mar 2012
Label:M Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-03-24 Pull Date: 2012-05-26 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: May 27 May 13 May 6 Apr 22 Apr 15 Apr 8 Mar 25
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 16, 2013: New World Disorder
Warrior (Feat. Michael Rose)
4. May 26, 2012: New World Disorder
Lion's Den Remix (Feat. Big Youth)
2. Jun 23, 2012: New World Disorder
Matics Horns - Horns Cut
5. May 12, 2012: New World Disorder
3. Jun 16, 2012: New World Disorder
6. May 05, 2012: New World Disorder
Tell It Like It Is (Feat. Mikey General)

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2012-03-23
Sounds of Twilight Circus
Reviewed by Sadie O., 3/23/12
Top notch modern roots/dub/electronic reggae. Twilight Circus is producer Ryan Moore, former bassist of the Legendary Pink Dots. (!). He records dubplates in his Dutch studio, and the best vocalists line up to sing over them. First CD is more roots rock reggae with vocalists, second CD is mostly dubplates with fewer vocal tracks.
No FCCs detected.
CD 1:
1. 3:26 ***somewhat downtempo one-drop with syndrums, sweet vocals (that’s why he’s called “Sugar” Minott…)
2. 3:17 **same basic riddim as track 1, a bit dubby with some nyahbinghi drums, with dancehall-style singing.
3. 4:01 ****downtempo and mellow bubble, Michael Rose’s distinctive vocals. Sound a lot like his work with Black Uhuru. Nice.
4. 4:10 ***slow and groovy syncopated dub, Big Youth toast. Stoned and great.
5. 3:38 **midtempo, cheery one-drop march, Michael Rose vocals. Odd random guitar bits.
6. 3:06 ***dub of the above track. Gets quite slow and spacey.
7. 3:28 ***midtempo skank with good energy, forceful vocals by Mikey General.
8. 4:22 ***downtempo, bass-heavy, slinky bubble, fine baritone vocals by Luciano.
9. 4:06 ***downtempo, very dubby, heavy on the kick drum and tom, bits of Big Youth toast – total stoner vibe. Like reggae should be!
10. 3:47 ****crazy super-slow ultra-dub with growly electronics. Sufi-style vocals and hand drums. Gnarly!
CD 2:
1. 6:35 ***syncopated and slinky sparce riddim with double-time snare, really sweet baritone vocals, rather crazed dancehall toast. Don’t know the vocalists, sorry…
2. 4:58 *whooshes and woobles… Am I stoned, or just getting a headache? Does get something more like a one-drop beat after a minute or so. Also pretty acoustic guitar. Bits of breathy female vocals. A bit abstract for my tastes…
3. 5:02 ***somewhat downtempo bubble, rather crazed toast from Big Youth.
4. 3:40 ***midtempo, forceful but slightly dubby one-drop, nice dancehall preaching from Fred Locks.
5. 4:07 ****a bit downtempo, solid one-drop with horn section front and center.
6. 4:34 **squeeblety electronics, groovy, slightly downtempo bubble with lots of tom, jazzy piano, no vocals.
7. 4:24 ***downtempo, rootsy dub skank with lots of percussion and electronic noises.
8. 4:14 ***slow and dubby with chimes and hand percussion. Slinky.
9. 4:27 ***slow, dubby, hard one-drop with melodica.
10. 3:56 ***very slow and burbly dub skank. Very moist.

Track Listing
1. Take It Slow (Feat. Sugar Minott)   11. No Burial (Rob Smith Remix)
2. Musical Journey (Feat. Tampanae)   12. Carlton (Abintra Remix)
3. Warrior (Feat. Michael Rose)   13. Lion's Den Remix (Feat. Big Youth)
4. Love Is What We Need (Feat. Big Youth) (Gcorp Remix)   14. Won't Give Up The Fight (Feat. Fred Locks)
5. Dangerzone (Feat. Michael Rose)   15. Matics Horns - Horns Cut
6. Danger Dub   16. Binshaker Dub Plate
7. Tell It Like It Is (Feat. Mikey General)   17. Blue Motion (Feat. Eddie "Tan Tan" Thornton)
8. What We Got To Do (Feat. Luciano)   18. Dub Quake
9. Why Can't We Be Friends (Featuring Big Youth)   19. Wareika
10. Dervish   20. Jericho Dub