Tanlines / Mixed Emotions
Album:Mixed Emotions Collection:General
Artist:Tanlines Added:Apr 2012
Label:True Panther Sounds 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2013-01-26 Pull Date:2013-03-31 
Week Ending:Mar 31Mar 24Mar 17Mar 10Feb 24Feb 17Feb 10Feb 3

Recent Airplay
1.Apr 21, 2016:The Intercept
All Of Me
4.Sep 12, 2013:second meeting
Yes Way, All Of Me
2.Apr 07, 2016:The Intercept
Real Life
5.May 15, 2013:Finger Licking Good
Not The Same, Brothers
3.Mar 29, 2014:Music Casserole
6.Apr 17, 2013:Finger Licking Good
Yes Way, Brothers

Album Review
catherine harris
Reviewed 2013-01-11 
Heavily 80’s influenced indie pop, this album mixes dance music and world-beat synth. More introspective lyrics (especially on the track Brothers) balance out the sticky-sweetness and add a bit more dimension. All tracks are very fun, danceable and upbeat. Lead’s unique vocals also distinguish this from average indie pop – voice is a lower and occasionally sort of Beck-like, harmonizes well. Sounds like summer, listen while driving in a convertible. Stand-out tracks: 1, 2, 5, 6

1. Brothers*** - Punchy, synth heavy groove, laid-back vocals/harmony floats over dance beat, super catchy
2. All Of Me - More up tempo, choral chanting and build, Afro-synth influence
3. Green Grass – Anthem-rock feel, so 80’s, jungle drums, jangly guitar interlude toward end
4. Abby – Dance beat paired with a slower synth line, pleasant pop
5. Yes Way*** – Exposed clapping percussion, steel drum, vocals rawer, less processed, Vampire Weekend-like
6. Not the Same** - Synth driven dance beat, strings and epic percussion in background, minor vocals counteract cheesy-ness
7. Lost Somewhere – Sounds like a more upbeat re-mix of first track, similar melody, lots of percussion
8. Real Life*** – “World” influence clearest here, emphasis on percussion (Dirty-Projectors a bit?), paired down beat, more exposed vocals
9. Rain Delay – Return to anthem-rock, reverb guitar, slower beat
10. Cactus – Caribbean groove, more Vampire Weekend
11. Nonesuch – Slow beat, atmospheric synth, love-sick lyrics, cool 80s guitar

Track Listing
1.Brothers 6.Not The Same
2.All Of Me 7.Lost Somewhere
3.Green Grass 8.Real Life
4.Abby 9.Rain Delay
5.Yes Way 10.Cactus