Rawls, Johnny / Soul Survivor
Album: Soul Survivor   Collection:Blues
Artist:Rawls, Johnny   Added:Jun 2012
Label:Cat Food Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-06-09 Pull Date: 2012-08-12 Charts: Blues
Week Ending: Aug 5 Jul 29 Jul 22 Jul 1 Jun 24 Jun 17
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 14, 2023: No One Gets out of these Blues Alive
King of hearts
4. Nov 13, 2017: Everything A to Z Week 110
J.R.'s Groove
2. May 17, 2023: No One Gets out of these Blues Alive
Soul Survivor
5. Nov 04, 2017: Wold Kingdom
J.R.'s Groove
3. Jan 19, 2023: Traditions
Soul Survivor
6. Jul 19, 2015: The Zydeco Workout
Bad Little Girl

Album Review
Lola Love
Reviewed 2012-06-29
“Soul Survivor”
Johnny Rawls
2012 Catfood Records

Long time Blues Musician Johnny Rawls has been a model of musical consistency in the Blues Nation. From his humble beginnings in Purvis, Mississippi to his evolution into a Texas Blues Man with deep Mississippi roots, Johnny Rawls has been nominated numerous times for the prestigious W.C. Handy Award, and produced great blues music that have earned Rawls the title of a “Blues Renaissance Man.” “Soul Survivor,” his 2012 CD is a very strong Blues CD and has 10 tracks that are impeccable!

1) 4:33 “Soul Survior”- Title Track of the CD. Rawls lets the Blues Nation know he is still going strong and he is the “last of a breed”. Upbeat Moderate Blues Beat.
2) 3:29 “ Hand Me Downs” – Tight Guitar riffs, very nice horn accompaniment, and catchy story telling hide the fact that this song is about hard times! Upbeat Moderate Blues Beat.
3) 3:50 “Eight Men, Four Women” – Slow, Sensual blues tune with a 1970’s background! Great for Late Night Blues Groove.
4) 3:39 “King Of Hearts” Hot Blues Swing Out Song with a very nice horn accompaniment. This song is a sleeper, Great Closer. Upbeat Moderate Blues Beat.
5) 3:32 “Long Way From Home” – Blues song about the hardships of a traveling musician. Great Lyrics, catchy hook, upbeat blues song!
6) 3:29 “Bad Little Girl” – Funky Blues Track with a down home jazz funk feel, Great Piano, Horns…This is song for the bad girls!
7) 4:16 “Drowning” – Sensual, late night ballad about a lost love. Great song - Great Dedication Song!
8) 4:08 “Don’t Need A Gun To Steal” – Blues song with Social commentary in the blues tradition about crooked politicians and preachers. Upbeat Moderate Blues Beat.
9) 3:30 “J.R.’s Groove” – INSTRUMENTAL-Raw Upbeat Blues Swing out, Great horns, tight guitar rift, and organ. Sleeper song, Great for back announcements.
10) 4:57 “Yes” – Down home Texas blues song, Moderate Slow Beat.

Johnny Rawls is truly a proven Blues Master and in his own words “last of a Breed.” “Soul Survivor” is a polished blues CD that rightly deserves to be in regular rotation!

Track Listing
1. Soul Survivor   6. Bad Little Girl
2. Hand Me Downs   7. Drowning
3. Eight Men Four Women   8. Don't Need A Gun To Stae
4. King Of Hearts   9. J.R.'s Groove
5. Long Way From Home   10. Yes