Giant Giant Sand / Tucson
Album:Tucson Collection:General
Artist:Giant Giant Sand Added:Jun 2012
Label:Fire Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2012-07-21 Pull Date:2012-09-23 
Week Ending:Sep 23Sep 9Sep 2Aug 19Aug 12Aug 5Jul 29

Recent Airplay
1.Feb 14, 2013:Daydream Disaster
Lost Love
4.Aug 31, 2012:The Songsmith Show
We Don't Play Tonight
2.Sep 21, 2012:The Songsmith Show
Forever And A Day
5.Aug 17, 2012:The Songsmith Show
Thing Like That
3.Sep 07, 2012:The Songsmith Show
Forever And A Day
6.Aug 05, 2012:Street Hassle
Love Comes Over You

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2012-07-19 
Howe Gelb propels Giant Sand further with a large band and adds an additional Giant to the name. It’s apt, as he employs a string section and horns. And he names the album after the Arizona town he’s lived in for years - Tucson. Giant Sand has been around for 30 years. This is an amalgam of sounds, rooted in Americana, alt-country - but much bigger that that - it’s Tex-Mex, jazz, spacey, Unique. Howe Gelb is a master songsmith. All songs are fantastic. No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: All. Pick your own...

1. (3:21) Slow / Mid. Waltzy, mellow, ethereal, echoey vocals, nicely picked guitar, perc.
2. (6:26) Mid. Upbeat driver, big sublime sound w/ strings, horns, big drums, echoey vocals. Dramatic change, gets a bit mellower, then back. Tex-Mex.
3. (3:14) Slow. Spoken intro. Dreamy w/ pedal steel, shaker, back vocals.
4. (3:41) Mid. Big alt-country sound w/ plodding beat, pedal, great guitar.
5. (4:47) Slow. An amalgam of jazz, country - spacey. Very sparse and beautiful.
6. (4:04) Mid. Lots going on - country, tex-mex, rock, ethereal and challenging.
7. (4:21) Slow / Mid. Wow! WTF? Really ethereal-ish - heavenly - pedal, piano, brushes, strings, great, great vocal. Phenomenal....
8. (3:09) Mid. Driving, alt-country-ish, has that classic Johnny Cash beat.
9. (4:12) Mid. Dark vibe - Nick Cave-ish, harsher voice, hip drums, horns, guitar.
10. (3:30) Mid. ’50’s r’n’r, rockabilly, tex-mex, echoey, tambourine, female back vocals, spacey end.
11. (2:29) Mid. Late-night loungey jazz w/ sexy female vocal, fingersnaps, jazzy beat, piano, bass.
12. (1:40) Slow / Mid. Distant vocal start, then upfront w/ plodding berat, bluesy.
13. (2:29) Mid. Dreamy vibe, percussion, guitar.
14. (5:06) Slow / Mid. Pedal, brushes, hipster cool vibe, late-night jazz-ish.
15. (3:58) Mid. Cool understated reverby guitar, really hip, noir-ish. Killer.
16. (4:03) Slow. Piano dirge, very dark but hopeful lyric. Brushes, male / female vocals, trumpet.
17. (5:00) Mid / Fast. Rockin’, drivin’, lyrics in Spanish. Kick ass.
18. (3:23) Slow / Mid. Mellow, pedal, plodding beat. Beautiful.
19. (1:09) Slow / Mid. Mellow Lo-fi bluesy garage.

Track Listing
1.Wind Blown Waltz 10.We Don't Play Tonight
2.Forever And A Day 11.Ready Or Not
3.Detained 12.Mostly Wrong
4.Lost Love 13.Hard Morning In A Soft Blur
5.Plane Of Existence 14.Recovery Mission
6.Undiscovered Country 15.Slag Heap
7.Love Comes Over You 16.Not The End Of The World
8.Thing Like That 17.Caranito
9.The Sun Belongs To You 18.Out Of The Blue
 19.New River