Catfish Keith / Put On A Buzz
Album: Put On A Buzz   Collection:General
Artist:Catfish Keith   Added:Jul 2012
Label:Fish Tail Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-07-21 Pull Date: 2012-09-23
Week Ending: Sep 23 Sep 16 Sep 9 Sep 2 Aug 26 Aug 5 Jul 29
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 05, 2018: Traditions
On A Monday
4. Sep 07, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Hawaiian Cowboy
2. Sep 21, 2012: The Songsmith Show
On A Monday
5. Aug 31, 2012: The Songsmith Show
On A Monday, Put On A Buzz
3. Sep 14, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Paying For It Now
6. Aug 24, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Aberdeen, Mississippi Blues

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2012-07-19
Catfish Keith is a goddamned guitar master. He plays phenomenal acoustic country blues guitar w/ Americana stylings. This is a solo guitar and vocal effort and finds him doing a mix of originals and covers - by the like of Lead Belly and Bukka White. His ever-present foot stomps serve as bass, his slide work is insane and his voice is beautifully weathered and wise. The real deal. No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: All.

1. (3:20) Mid. Lead Belly classic. Bottleneck mesmerizer, strong and forceful.
2. (3:27) Mid. Upbeat w/ ringing guitar strings, driving and divine.
3. (5:04) Slow / Mid. Another Lead Belly song. Ominous, plodding. Heavy lyrics.
4. (2:59) Mid. Drug-trip story-song. Hypnotic pace, spacey.
5. (2:40) Mid / Fast. Killer guitar work, uptempo driver, urgent and gritty.
6. (4:29) Mid. Title track, original. Great, upbeat repetitive guitar. Killer!!
7. (4:22) Mid. Bukka White tune. Big slide guitar, upbeat and driving. Solid.
8. (4:23) Mid. Original in the vein of Charley Patton’s Delta blues style. Nice.
9. (4:59) Mid. Bright vibe w/ his own vocal in the back. Plodding beat.
10. (4:43) Mid. 1920’s song from Frank Stokes. Great vocal, nice playing.
11. (4:12) Mid. Beautiful country blues, harmonizes w/ himself, really nice.
12. (4:06) Mid. Upbeat, kick-ass slide on this Hawaiian country blues tune. Yeah!!
13. (4:03) Mid. Original, plodding beat, fun w/ insane playing.
14. (2:36) Slow / Mid. Reefer song by Jazz Gillum. Great lyrics. Stoney gait.

Track Listing
1. On A Monday   8. Xima Jo Road
2. Sigh Of The Whippoorwill   9. He Rose From The Dead
3. Grasshopper In My Pillow   10. Nobody's Business
4. Willie The Chimney Sweeper   11. Lost Lover Blues
5. Paying For It Now   12. Hawaiian Cowboy
6. Put On A Buzz   13. Can't Be Undone
7. Aberdeen, Mississippi Blues   14. Reefer Head