Wright, Brandon / Journeyman
Album: Journeyman   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Wright, Brandon   Added:Sep 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-09-21 Pull Date: 2012-11-23 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Nov 11 Nov 4 Oct 28 Oct 21 Oct 14 Oct 7 Sep 30
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 06, 2012: Rebop
Illusions Of Light
4. Oct 16, 2012: Rebop
2. Oct 30, 2012: Rebop
He'll Make Me Happy
5. Oct 09, 2012: Rebop
Big Bully
3. Oct 27, 2012: Music Casserole
Walk Of Shame
6. Oct 06, 2012: Feral Pop/Jazz Frenzy

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-09-11
Straight-up modern bop from saxophonist Wright joined by some of his Mingus Big Band brothers. David Kikoski on piano, Boris Kozlov on bass & Donald Edwards on drums. A tight, talented bunch with an obviously chemistry and solid talent. 6 tracks are by Wright who shows his talent as a composer as well as a nimble sax man.

*1. Off to a hot start with this upbeat bop w/such great energy.
2. Starts down/mid picks up. A lot of heavy hitting on this one. Cool.
*3. Oh yeah, great drums lead into a super-cool bit of upbeat jazz funk.
4. Slow sax solo, then some quiet reflection from all. Lovely
*5. Holy hot bop, Batman! Wickedly good upbeat jam w/great solos.
6. Mostly midtempo, a fluid, dynamic mix w/great interplays.
7. Down/midtempo w/the sax taking the lead & a tight arrangement.
8. Relaxed and meandering w/especially nice work on the keys.
9. A lovely ballad, sentimentally romantic but w/a modern touch.
*10. Mid/upbeat, the sax just runs along & the rest push him on. Yow!

Track Listing
1. Shapeshifter   6. Choices
2. Better Man   7. Search For Truth
3. Walk Of Shame   8. Wonderwall
4. Illusions Of Light   9. The Nearness Of You
5. Big Bully   10. He'll Make Me Happy