Deepchild / Neukolln Burning
Album: Neukolln Burning   Collection:General
Artist:Deepchild   Added:Sep 2012
Label:Thoughtless Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-09-28 Pull Date: 2012-11-30 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Dec 2 Nov 11 Oct 28 Oct 21 Oct 14
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 04, 2014: Pumping Iron
Neukolln Burning
4. Oct 22, 2012: The Big Love Show
2. Nov 27, 2012: Clubbing Zeal
Neukolln Burning
5. Oct 15, 2012: The Big Love Show
3. Nov 06, 2012: Electrowave
6. Oct 08, 2012: The Big House Show
That I Adore You, Doves In Michigan

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-09-19
Deepchild: Neukolln Burning Label: Thoughtless Music

Trading the warmth of his native Australia for the cool of Berlin seems like something only a techno artist would do, and that's Rick Bull, a.k.a. Deepchild. This is a fantastic album named after his Berlin neighborhood of Neukolln. The dub-inflected tech-house & acid-bathed techno beats are brilliantly arranged & grab you. And there is plenty of soul & substance here too. I'm not sold on the ambient tracks, as the hits are clearly the dance-y tracks like #2 ("Neukolln Burning"), #3 ("Dirty Cutlery") and #4 ("Riyadh"). #8 ("Want") is great too.
1. Atmospheric synth intro w/ dialogue snippets. I think I heard a woman say "talk some shit" so this is SAFE HARBOR ONLY. (FCC)
2. Wonderful title track. Dub-inflected electronics, catchy little synth loops & effects, some vocal samples, punchy claps - all thoughtfully composed and ultimately groovy.
3. Techy now. Insistent tones, big claps, vocal snippets, then a big breakdown that leads into a massive acid-rave-tech bath about halfway through. Slammin'.
4. Minimal-tech-house. Exotic Middle-Eastern-sounding flavors over an acid/techno framework with cool tweaky blippy melodies.
5. Space-y electro-dub. Nervy little effects & clicks & samples. Cool stuff.
6. Wacky dubbed-out madness. R&B soul vox and crazy synths over a dub framework.
7. Ambient soul. Synth soundscape/interlude.
8. Retro-style synth throwing down a sick groove on this homage to Detroit techno. Awesome.
9. Stripped-down techno that elegantly builds up over some vox & warm synths
10. Deep & thoughtful tech-house that breathes organically and pounds mechanically
11. Melancholic techno that features expansive Gregorian-esque vocals
12. Light and airy tech-house, some uplifting vox, bright synth loop & big claps
13. Textures of crackles & synths over a dark & cold soundscape - FCC (a dialogue with the words "fucking die")
14. Sinister & cold ambience with rolling distorted bass

Track Listing
1. Doves In Michigan   8. Want
2. Neukolln Burning   9. The One I Used To Call Home
3. Dirty Cutlery   10. Rage
4. Riyadh   11. Then We Dissolved
5. Bleeding Down The Night   12. That I Adore You
6. I Woke And You Were Smiling   13. Reuterkiez Winter Lights
7. Chicago Train   14. Perimeter Of Release