Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Slow Dancing Society / Laterna Magica
Album:Laterna Magica Collection:General
Artist:Slow Dancing Society Added:10/2012
Label:Hidden Shoal 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2012-10-28 Pull Date:2012-12-30 
Week Ending:30 Dec23 Dec16 Dec9 Dec2 Dec25 Nov18 Nov11 Nov

 Recent Airplay
1.Dec 25, 2012:Meow:The Best Of Fall 2012
After The Twilight Takes Us
4.Dec 06, 2012:The Sunset Life
A Slow Parade Of Wind
2.Dec 18, 2012:Meow
See You In Time
5.Dec 05, 2012:Meow After Midnight
After The Twilight Takes Us
3.Dec 13, 2012:The Sunset Life
Gardens & Graves
6.Dec 01, 2012:Meow After Midnight
After The Twilight Takes Us

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2012-10-20 
For his fifth album, this Hidden Shoal artist gives us ten lovely, autumnal soundscapes. It’s massive stuff, making judicious use of bass and synthetic percussion. Turn it up and bliss out. Favorites: 1, 3, 5, 6, 8. No FCCs.

1. *(5:55)—Peaceful drones, glimmering sounds, piano, occasional deep bass notes.
2. (5:31)—Light, synthetic, shaker-like percussion. Ringing guitar. At -4:00, percussion gives way to a pool of drones and keyboard sounds.
3. *(7:39)—The spare but powerful use of guitar and bass takes this toward the quieter sides of post-rock or shoegaze. Unsettling voice recording appears near the end.
4. (3:33)—Pleasant. Features guitar and some slightly dance-oriented synths (though there’s no beat).
5. *(5:07)—Dark, dramatic. Piano, acoustic guitar, drones, strings, synths. Starts sounding like atmospheric post-punk around the two-minute mark.
6. *(5:26)—Majestic. Treated piano, acoustic guitar, and synth strings enveloped in a mist of drones.
7. (2:46)—Faster and more rhythmic. Tense, dark, subdued.
8. *(4:17)—Blissful, gentle. Ringing guitars, piano, synthetic chimes, synthetic strings.
9. (7:04)—The synthetic shaker returns. Minimal beginning. Occasional drum sounds seem to herald a climax that never comes.
10. (3:37)—Melancholy, tense. Driven by a subtle rhythm. Becomes very faint at -0:25.

Track Listing
1.After The Twilight Takes Us 6.See You In Time
2.Bones & Ice (Summer Trees Turn) 7.Pieces Of Your Presence
3.A Few Moments 8.A Slow Parade Of Wind
4.Gardens & Graves 9.There's A Place For Us
5.I'll Leave A Light On 10.Tomorrow's Another Day