Boy Eats Drum Machine / Battle, The
Album: Battle, The   Collection:General
Artist:Boy Eats Drum Machine   Added:Nov 2012
Label:(No Label Information)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-06-27 Pull Date: 2014-08-29
Week Ending: Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29
Airplays: 1 2 4 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 05, 2014: Eclectic Erudition week 06 summer '14 My Dad's Records
Oh! Little Brother
4. Jul 12, 2014: The Proselytizer Radio News Hour
Brother, Amen
2. Aug 02, 2014: Music Casserole
Oh! Little Brother
5. Jul 12, 2014: The Fishbowl
The Devil's Wheels
3. Jul 30, 2014: A-philiac
Brother, Amen
6. Jul 11, 2014: Time Traveler
I, William, Your Ex-Lover

Album Review
Eme O
Reviewed 2014-06-25
Rock/Electronic. AKA solo artist Jon Ragel of Portland, OR; songwriter, producer, singer, turntablist who plays the saxophone, guitar, synthesizer, organ, and several percussive knick-knacks. “Conscious” lyrics. 70s soul influence. Soulful yet thin voice, not the best singer really. Lots of audience sounds (though no end-track clapping). Faves: 5,8,10 ~eme o.

1. Royal Countess (3:38) Mid-tempo. Soul sounds, saxophone. Abrupt end.

2. I, William, Your Ex-Lover (3:05) Mid-fast. Flute, audience sounds (claps, whoops). Slight Caribbean sound.

3. Devil Hands (3:38) Mid-fast. Audience sounds (talking), strong beat, synth sounds, then the other instruments enter. Slightly Western guitar.

4. Speak For God (5:38) Mid-tempo 70s. Depeche Mode quality to this one. Audience gets a whooping solo. Earnest lyrics. Rock guitar, semi-solo. Possible FCC: “Goddamn”

5. Brother, Amen (4:17) Mid-tempo. Ambient aquarium sounds lead off, beat follows. Harp, flute, percussion, a moment of turntable scratching. Light on the singing.

6. The Battle (3:19) Mid-slow. Strings, staccato rhythm alternate with fuller rock sounds.

7. Election Drinking Song (2:30) Mid-tempo. Audience/party sounds. Funky beat, synth arpeggios.

8. The Devil’s Wheels (2:51) Mid-slow. Moody. Almost a dance beat. Abrupt end.

9. Destroy Imagination (4:20) Mid-tempo. Clatters in with bouncing synth beat and metallic percussion.

10. Oh! Little Brother (5:27) Slow to mid-slow to rock. Piano, synth sounds to start. Then a nosing beat enters. Theremin(?) enters at points.

11. Every Man (3:14) Mid-tempo. Opening is a mix of slightly Latin drumming and surfy guitar. Drumming normalizes, surfiness remains alternating with a funkier strum of chords, bird sounds.

12. 100 Tanks (3:53) Mid-fast. Stuttering beat. Vibey guitar. Brief strings solo. Track ends ~0:45 early.

Track Listing
1. Royal Countess   7. Election Drinking Song
2. I, William, Your Ex-Lover   8. The Devil's Wheels
3. Devil Hands   9. Destroy Imagination
4. Speak For God   10. Oh! Little Brother
5. Brother, Amen   11. Every Man
6. The Battle   12. 100 Tanks