Demarco, Mac / Rock And Roll Night Club
Album: Rock And Roll Night Club   Collection:General
Artist:Demarco, Mac   Added:Jan 2013
Label:Captured Tracks  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-01-12 Pull Date: 2013-03-17
Week Ending: Mar 17 Mar 10 Mar 3 Feb 17 Feb 10 Feb 3 Jan 27 Jan 20
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 2 4 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 02, 2024: Vinyls from the Attic
Baby's Wearing Blue Jeans
4. Feb 04, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
I'm A Man
2. May 21, 2023: sound of science
One More Tear To Cry
5. Jan 07, 2023: Vinyls from the Attic
Moving Like Mike
3. Apr 11, 2023: Vinyls from the Attic
Moving Like Mike
6. Aug 22, 2013: Home Free
One More Tear To Cry

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-01-10
Lo-fi pop/outsider music
Mac DeMarco’s first album under his own name is a wonderfully sleazy, cartoonish fusion of 60s and 80s pop. Supposedly DeMarco didn’t like the sound of the music he was working on, so he slowed it down and kept it that way. It’s like if Elvis were a total goofball slacker who decided to record all his music by himself. Excellent. Favorites: 1, 3, 4, 9, 12. FCC WARNING: 7, 10.

1. *(3:10)—Slow, campy, noir pop rock.
2. (0:34)—Fake legal ID—probably not FCC okay. Super creepy, deep voiced DJ named Dojo Daniel. Hilarious.
3. *(3:33)—Slow. About falling in love with a woman because of her jeans. Super catchy chorus.
4. *(4:05)—Medium-slow. Sappy 60s teenage heartbreak ballad, DeMarco style.
5. (3:17)—Medium-slow chug. More crooning. Oddly romantic.
6. (1:01)—Fake legal ID—probably not FCC okay. A DJ with a smooth, seductive voice says that, at 106.2 FM The Breeze, “we shoot the breeze, all day long.”
7. (3:04)—FCC (s***). Mid-tempo. Breezy, pretty. Higher-pitched vocals—first song for which DeMarco hasn’t slowed the vocal track.
8. (2:58)—Slow, bouncy, fun. Possibly about Michael Jackson.
9. *(2:41)—Slow, dreamy, particularly woozy. Heavy echo on the vocals.
10. (2:32)—FCC (s***). Mid-tempo. Back to the sleaze-noir persona. Jerky, catchy.
11. (2:59)—Mid-tempo. Like a 60s teen ballad run through a shoegaze filter. Instruments and vocals are at normal speed and pitch.
12. *(2:04)—Medium-slow. Similar sound to the previous song.

Track Listing
1. Rock And Roll Night Club   7. She's Really All I Need
2. 96.7 The Pipe   8. Moving Like Mike
3. Baby's Wearing Blue Jeans   9. Me And Jon Hanging On
4. One More Tear To Cry   10. I'm A Man
5. European Vegas   11. Only You
6. 106.2 Breeze Fm   12. Me And Mine