Ethernet / Opus 2
Album: Opus 2   Collection:General
Artist:Ethernet   Added:Feb 2013

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-02-16 Pull Date: 2013-04-21 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Apr 21 Apr 14 Apr 7 Mar 24 Mar 10 Mar 3 Feb 24
Airplays: 3 2 3 2 1 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 02, 2014: Top 30 X of 2013 part ii
Dog Star
4. Apr 16, 2013: Moon Buddy
Dog Star
5. Apr 11, 2013: The Sunset Life
3. Apr 18, 2013: The Sunset Life (Crescendo)
Cubed Suns
6. Apr 10, 2013: minimum entropy
Cubed Suns

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-02-13
Northern Californian Tim Gray’s second release for Kranky is an ever-elongating path through the murky, unsettling depths of synthesized sound. Retro-sounding synths populate these pieces, but here they are in the service of cavernous and insular sonic worlds. If you tend to like the atmospheric intros of songs more than the songs themselves, give this a spin. Play any. No words, no FCCs.

1. (7:53)—Mixture of soft and granulated synth sounds. Slow, pulsing bass tones and electro hi-hat. Walking forever down a faintly lit hallway in an eighties movie.
2. (7:39)—Soft, mid-tempo, pulsing heartbeat. Chillier, more ominous.
3. (10:10)—Synths humming like insects, dark drones, wind-like noises. Soft, high-pitched, dissonant tones. A faint beat.
4. (10:53)—Warm tones, waves on the shore. Granulated synth sounds.
5. (7:25)—Eerie. Heavy use of synth hit-hat. Reminds me of Chromatics.
6. (13:33)—Layers and layers of drones piled on top of one another. Very, very light percussion that sounds like someone far away walking through dried leaves.

Track Listing
1. Monarch   4. Dog Star
2. Correction   5. Dodecahedron
3. Cubed Suns   6. Pleroma