Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Person, Eric / Thoughts On God
Album:Thoughts On God Collection:Jazz
Artist:Person, Eric Added:02/2013
Label:Distinction Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2013-07-07 Pull Date:2013-09-08 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:8 Sep1 Sep25 Aug11 Aug4 Aug28 Jul14 Jul

 Recent Airplay
1.Mar 03, 2020:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Joy Complete
4.Feb 04, 2020:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Faith Forward, Song Of Praise
2.Feb 18, 2020:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
The Lighted Way
5.Jan 28, 2020:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Faith Forward
3.Feb 11, 2020:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Faith Forward
6.Jan 02, 2020:Brian Canada DEMO #2 (Mellow Fellow)
Back To Center

Album Review
librae jackson
Reviewed 2013-06-28 
Eric Person/Thoughts on God/Distinction Records

Eric Person is a masterful player of the alto sax, soprano sax and flute. As the composer, arranger and producer of this album, he has written some fine instrumentals, and organized an elite team of talented musicians to help play them. Despite the title, this is straight ahead jazz, and one need not be religious, to enjoy it. Considering the title, this music can, indeed, accompany good thoughts. This project is a pleasant surprise to the ears. The overall sound is mellow and modern, with classic jazz sophistication and big band sensibilities.

Recommended: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10

1. All Those with Ears Hear (5:12)
Opens with a lush piano intro. The drums kick in at 0:58, introducing the other instruments, for a grand mixture of sounds to garner attention.

2. And Then There Was Light (3:58)
Very nice mid-tempo bounce, with the horn arrangements setting the tone throughout. Phenomenal sax solo at 1:34.

3. Creation Celebration (5:31)
This mellow swing groove is extremely pleasant.

4. Soothes the Soul (7:13)
Contemplative intro makes way for a beautiful groove at 0:34, which progresses into 7 minutes of musical massage therapy. Fitting title.

5. Never Far From His Grace (7:13)
Another 7 minutes of pleasure. Exactly the same length as the previous track, and just as pleasant. This is a slow and pensive track, with a myriad of melodies. This could give nice accompaniment to anyone's thoughts.

6. Back to Center (8:55)
Clanging introduction, followed by piano waves, which set the song into motion. Main groove kicks in at 0:58, and the quiet storm gets progressively loud, before ending in a blast.

7. Song of Praise (5:57)
Mellow march, with nice exchanges between the clarinet and vibraphone. An uptempo swing takes over at 1:25, and then the baton is passed to a slower swing at 1:55, laden with an excellent vibraphone solo. Lovely dialogue between the wind instruments at 4:35.

8. Joy Complete (8:54)
Uptempo rolling swing waxes energetic at 0:34, and smoothes out at 2:14, only to liven up again. At 5:17, there's a break in action for a soothing sax solo, which commences to the final minutes.

9. The Blessing (4:35)
Nice groove with flavors of Latin America and the Caribbean. Great soprano sax solo at 1:48.

10. The Lighted Way (6:13)
Slow, steady swing, full of wondrous exchanges between the various instruments. Awesome flute solo at 3:07

11. Gratitude (6:02)
Mid-tempo ride, with change-ups that are frequent, but nice. Dexterous piano solo at 3:04.

12. Faith Forward (5:26)
Lively-paced with a Motown feel. The horn arrangements are very lyrical.

Librae Jackson
(brother brae)

Track Listing
1.All Those With Ears Hear 7.Song Of Praise
2.And Then There Was Light 8.Joy Complete
3.Creation Celebration 9.The Blessing
4.Soothes The Soul 10.The Lighted Way
5.Never Far From His Grace 11.Gratitude
6.Back To Center 12.Faith Forward