Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Ducktails / Flower Lane, The
Album:Flower Lane, The Collection:General
Artist:Ducktails Added:02/2013
Label:Domino Recording Company 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2013-04-06 Pull Date:2013-06-09 
Week Ending:9 Jun2 Jun26 May19 May12 May5 May28 Apr21 Apr

 Recent Airplay
1.Jul 22, 2021:Gurlz RuLe (rebroadcast from Apr 10, 2013)
Sedan Magic
4.Jun 01, 2017:Music for Misfits
Sedan Magic
2.May 03, 2018:Sound Landscapes
Under Cover
5.Apr 27, 2017:Music for Misfits
Under Cover
3.Aug 17, 2017:moodswings
The Flower Lane
6.Oct 02, 2014:The Fishbowl
Under Cover

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-04-02 
Woozy, dreamy, lo-fi indie-rock from Matt Mondanile, the guitarist of Real Estate. On The Flower Lane, his first solo release on a major label, Mondanile shifts from his bedroom pop roots to embrace a much fuller sound with guest contributions from the likes of Cults, Big Troubles, Outer Limitz, and Oneohtrix Point Never. Also of note: this album was produced by Al Carlson, who worked on the last Peaking Lights and Oneohtrix Point Never albums.


RIYL: Real Estate, Destroyer, Ariel Pink, Atlas Sound, Woods

1. Washed-out guitar with chill vocals. Very relaxed.
2. Title track. Slower tempo, a bit more serious tone. Great string accompaniment.
*3. Strummy 70’s retro vibe with soft vocals and sunny melodies. Standout guitar and sax solos.
4. Big bouncy riffs, rolling piano. Blistering 1-minute guitar solo at the end.
*5. Deadpan vocals, shimmering guitars, steady percussion.
*6. Excellent layered instrumentation with delicious synth and glam-rock guitar. Bouncy bass and washed out vocals.
7. Midtempo with beautiful female vox courtesy of Madeline Follin of Cults.
8. Instrumental. Lots of chill distorted guitars, and zany retro synth.
*9. Dream collaboration track featuring Jess Farkas (Future Shuttle and Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never) on synth. Definitely one of the album standouts.
10. Strummy acoustic guitars, woozy guitar riffs panning back and forth. Vocals are a little iffy, but there’s lots of cool stuff going on with delay pedals.

Track Listing
1.Ivy Covered House 6.Assistant Director
2.The Flower Lane 7.Sedan Magic
3.Under Cover 8.International Date Line
4.Timothy Shy 9.Letter Of Intent
5.Planet Phrom 10.Academy Avenue