Youth Lagoon / Wondrous Bughouse
Album:Wondrous Bughouse Collection:General
Artist:Youth Lagoon Added:Mar 2013
Label:Fat Possum Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2013-03-16 Pull Date:2013-05-19 
Week Ending:May 19May 12May 5Apr 28Apr 21Apr 14Apr 7Mar 31

Recent Airplay
1.May 24, 2023:mitchell's library
4.Jun 08, 2014:Everything.
Pelican Man
2.May 14, 2023:mitchell's library
Raspberry Cane
5.May 25, 2014:Everything.
3.Mar 13, 2015:Distractions
6.Apr 27, 2014:Everything.
Raspberry Cane

Album Review
DJ Moon Buddy
Reviewed 2013-03-20 
Genre: Dream Pop, Noise Pop
Similar artists: Atlas Sound, Washed Out, Alt-J, Of Montreal, Blackbright Morning Light

Second album from 23 year old Trevor Powers. His first album was disarmingly honest, but young in its production. This effort is more polished due to production help from Ben H. Allen (Deerhunter, Washed Out). The polish seems to remove some of the magic, though. All vocals are very fuzzed out - difficult to make out many of the words. No FCCs. (Reviewed: 3/9/2013)

1. 2:32 - Random cacophonous sounds gradually fuzz into a peaceful intro track.
** 2. 5:59 - Lovely repetitive instrumentals give way to fuzzed out vocals. Anthemic chorus comes in around 2:00. 20 seconds at the end can be faded out.
3. 3:52 - Plodding instrumentals with Of Montreal-ish vocals. Feels like I'm at a carnival.
4. 4:48 - Slow introductory vocals build until 2:00 and are joined by quiet guitar line and keys.
5. 5:08 - BML-ish intro with high fuzzed out vocals. Song builds and quickens starting at 1:00. "It's not you, it's all in your head." Minute long wrap up.
* 6. 5:57 – Repetition of "You'll never die" as intro – gradually building keys with angsty male vocals.
7. 5:35 - Dreamy, lovely, slow instrumentals with difficult to discern vocals. Builds starting at 2:00.
* 8. 5:02 – Quick guitar strum intro with slightly more optimistic vocals.
** 9. 6:41 – Very chariots of fire. 1:30 in and I’m off, running into the sunset. Fewer vocals on this track.
10. 5:20 - Fluttery opening with angsty vocals. Not terribly radio friendly.

DJ Moon Buddy

Track Listing
1.Through Mind And Back 6.Dropla
2.Mute 7.Sleep Paralysis
3.Attic Doctor 8.Third Dystopia
4.The Bath 9.Raspberry Cane
5.Pelican Man 10.Daisyphobia