Zomes / Times Was
Album: Times Was   Collection:General
Artist:Zomes   Added:Apr 2013
Label:Thrill Jockey Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-09-01 Pull Date: 2013-11-03
Week Ending: Oct 20 Oct 13 Sep 15 Sep 8
Airplays: 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 17, 2013: Deathcrush
4. Sep 14, 2013: Pinhas LIVE
Little Lucid Dreamer
2. Oct 10, 2013: Deathcrush
Little Lucid Dreamer
5. Sep 11, 2013: Thermonuclear Bar
Little Lucid Dreamer
3. Oct 06, 2013: late night dryer
Little Lucid Dreamer
6. Sep 06, 2013: Last Gasp of Summer
Loveful Heights

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2013-08-24
Organ heavy dark, mostly slow plodding, dirgelike simple beats, with female vocs in Swedish that are often lyric-free, just carrying melody. Most songs are plodding, repetitive, hypnotic, but others delve into pretty melody/lyrics. Just organ/keys and simple beats for sound beds. Super cool stuff by duo composed of Asa Osborne (Lungfish) and Swedish vocalist Hanna Olivegreen. Beautiful, if dark, material. For fans of very early Cure, Current 93, Low, Jarboe, very chill Yo La Tengo.

1) (5:08) slow dramatic, heavy beat and organ, Swedish vocs soar
2) (6:36) long repetitive meditative plod, drone, with vocalizations lyric free, bladerunnercore
3) (3:21) pretty lilting
4) (4:07) super cool death march, plod, with near-voiceover, heavy organ tone
5) (5:21) drum beat feels like it wants to take off, dark droning organ again, slight melody carried by Jarboe’ish vocalizations
6) (4:52) simple three note melody, sparse chill, sounds like the intro to a Swans song, circa 1989
7) (3:13) brighter, a repetitive plod still but with lyrics, songlike
8) (4:29) lovely vocal melodies, chill YLT type organ feel, pretty hopeful and yearning plodding

Track Listing
1. Loveful Heights   5. Footpaths
2. Monk Bag   6. Equinox
3. Silentium   7. Time Was
4. Little Lucid Dreamer   8. Cave Mountain Stream