Rio En Medio / Peace Sequence
Album: Peace Sequence   Collection:General
Artist:Rio En Medio   Added:Apr 2013
Label:Womens Work  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-05-19 Pull Date: 2013-07-21
Week Ending: Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 9 Jun 2 May 26
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 12, 2013: Soiled Doves
4. Jun 06, 2013: The Sunset Life
2. Jul 06, 2013: Gengencang Show
This Side The Ground
5. May 30, 2013: The Sunset Life
Tall Tree In The Ear
3. Jun 23, 2013: feral pop frenzy
Mountains Of The Moon
6. May 26, 2013: air balloon lane
Tall Tree In The Ear

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-05-13
Ambient folk
Naturalistic, simultaneously intimate and spacious wanderings from this solo project of Danielle Stech-Homsy. This is uniformly beautiful, mysterious stuff that seems to live on the edge of the woods inhabited by Grouper’s cloaked washes of sound. Tracks 4 and 6 feature koto master Shoko Hikage. Favorites: 3, 4, 5, 6, 8. No FCCs.

1. (2:49)—Mid-tempo. Grateful Dead cover. Playful but ominous.
2. (4:57)—Mid-tempo. Fuzzed out acoustic guitar. Cavernous bass tones. Lyrics come from a translation of Rilke.
3. *(4:40)—Very slow and dark. The plucked guitar notes sound like stones dropped into a bottomless lake. “Trees that you planted fall down.”
4. *(4:11)—Mid-tempo. Lovely koto and guitar interplay. Hypnotically repetitious.
5. *(3:44)—Medium-slow, sad. High-pitched, ominous, incantatory harmonies.
6. *(4:16)—Slow and melancholy. More koto. Background granular electronics.
7. (5:22)—Instrumental. Looped, wordless vocals. Soft, croaking percussion.
8. *(7:08)—Slow and foreboding. Several airy layers of background instrumentation, including flute harp and wordless vocals.
9. (4:08)—Mid-tempo. More politically pointed; talks about “powertrippers” and “[keeping] those lies away.”

Track Listing
1. Mountains Of The Moon   5. Peace
2. Do You Hear?   6. Sing For A Song
3. Tall Tree In The Ear   7. Lady Leaf Paradise
4. This Side The Ground   8. For The Living
  9. Storykeepers