Pinhas, Richard / Desolation Row
Album: Desolation Row   Collection:General
Artist:Pinhas, Richard   Added:May 2013
Label:Cuneiform Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-06-03 Pull Date: 2013-08-05
Week Ending: Aug 4 Jul 28 Jul 21 Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 23 Jun 16 Jun 9
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 3 2 5 6

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 23, 2017: Reckless Burning
4. Oct 26, 2013: Music Casserole
2. Mar 11, 2015: minimum entropy
5. Aug 02, 2013: Tunes
3. Jan 02, 2014: KZSU Top 100 of 2013
6. Jul 31, 2013: minimum entropy

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2013-05-16
Proggy fusion guitar based experimental that gets noisey in such a tasteful manner. All instrumental. Pinhas has been around for 40 years now; band members include Oren Ambarchi and noise master Lasse Marhaug. Think: Sujo meets Weather Report while smoking pot with Bowery Electric. Think sonic bliss. Also think Robert Fripp’s frippertronics, and Eno/Fripp’s “Evening Star” sound. How he gets away with pretty much lifting Fripp’s near-trademarked sound is beyond me (I’ll stick to my theory that he was doing it first or that he invented it in parallel). Regardless he does it well and in a way that Fripp doesn’t (Fripp would never get this noisey and avante). The first track is a ride for the senses. Take it.

1) (16:25) mathy ride cymbal fusion beat with cool synth and subtle noise guitar builds into a wall, Sujo meets Weather Report, by the time this hits the 10 minute mark you will have lost all control of your faculties, sadly they chose to fade it out to end. I’d like to know just how long this shit went on for
2) (8:53) a chill simple drum beat and sparseness to it, Fripp/Eno “evening star” tones serve as soundbed, knida noodly
3) (8:59) no drums for first 4 min, layers of looping synth and guitar washes, then drums kick in for a Bowery Electric stoney dream effect
4) (18:35) a relatively chill spacey jam that includes echoey sax, lots of submerged tones, upbeat almost urgent feel til it shifts into a synth beat Kraftwerk style jam
5) (8:42) cool upbeat jam, synth and guitars swirl about like little dust devils
6) (16:28) droning synth/guitar noise, long wall of sound

Track Listing
1. North   4. Moog
2. Square   5. Circle
3. South   6. Drone 1