Ebony Bones! / Behold, A Pale Horse
Album: Behold, A Pale Horse   Collection:General
Artist:Ebony Bones!   Added:Aug 2013
Label:1984 Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-07-11 Pull Date: 2014-09-12
Week Ending: Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1 2 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 29, 2014: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand: Best of The Year 2014. Part 2!
Bread & Circus
4. Sep 05, 2014: In The Year 1000, 8000: Cerati's Edition
Bread & Circus
2. Nov 24, 2014: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand
What Difference Does It Make (Featuring The New London Children's Choir)
5. Sep 01, 2014: ZoeRadio
What Difference Does It Make (Featuring The New London Children's Choir)
3. Sep 07, 2014: PENTAGONAL Banana
Breathe (Featuring Mechanical Elephant)
6. Aug 28, 2014: Homeward Bound
I See I Say

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-07-09
Ebony Bones, Behold, a Pale Horse. Art rock / Afrobeat / New wave / Pop / a little bit of everything… This is a fantastic and crafted album. All tracks were written and produced by Ebony Thomas (Ebony Bones) and have a unique blend of heavy beats, electric guitar riffs, and driving grooves. All tracks are radio friendly, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, and 12 are especially listening friendly. RIYL: Santigold, MIA, Janelle Monae (sort of).

1.(1:28) Begins with choir chanting. Heavy driving drums with strings from the Mumbai Symphony Orchestra. Heavy in the low ranges.
2.(3:18) *House dance single. Think TNGHT. Heavy bass with repetitive vocal phrase. Building to 1:16. Little to no singing.
3.(3:07) Slow and laid back electric guitar riff with lots of feedback. String symphony in background. Mystery Mystery Mystery.
4.(3:20) **Upbeat, shouting, chill atmosphere leading into chorus. Electronic, rhythm guitar, snares off. Multiple vocal layers.
5.(3:42) **Holy shit, caught me off guard. This is a SMITHS COVER from their self-titled. The song is “What Difference Does it Make”. New London Boys Choir covers Morrissey. Melody is carried by vocals, whistling, bass and electric guitar. All are background to choir.
6.(3:42) ** Weird provocation, “Warriors come out to play…”. Transitions into upbeat driving electro rock. Has a little trip hop in the drums, but really sped up.
7.(3:45) *** Airy electric guitar with feedback. Clapping and drums for percussion. Cool harmony with featured artist Mechanical Elephant. Feel good song. “Breathe darling breathe in life”
8.(6:49) Dramatic intro, piano and strings. Lightens to feel like a These New Puritans or Menomena song. Then deep again with vocals. Song feels powerful, strong, and heavy. At 3 minutes auto tuned vocals and snares on. Ends with piano.
9.(3:30) Epically dark and heavy intro. Picks up with Michael Jackson-esque beat then cow bell, then Prince/George Michael guitar riff. No lyrics, just a groove.
10.(3:55) **Old timey sample, epic and heavy beat. Trombones open up. Vocal layers. Random Latin trip hop samples break up the song for 5 seconds or so after chorus.
11.(4:35) Electric guitar and various percussion with a simple bass drum intro. Builds to an eerie full sound with strings. Noisy song with drums louder than vocals.
12.(3:28) **Stomp clap intro. Electric guitar riff, again heavy deep beat. Call and response between vocals and percussion. Pretty cool sound.

Track Listing
1. Behold, A Pale Horse (Featuring The Mumbai Symphony Orchestra)   7. Breathe (Featuring Mechanical Elephant)
2. I See I Say   8. I.N.V.I.N.C.I.B.L.E.
3. Mystery Babylon Balloon   9. Bread & Circus
4. While The People S.L.E.E.P   10. Morphine For The Masses
5. What Difference Does It Make (Featuring The New London Children's Choir)   11. Lazarus
6. Neu World Blues   12. W.A.R.R.I.O.R. (Bonus Track)