Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Okkervil River / Silver Gymnasium, The
Album:Silver Gymnasium, The Collection:General
Artist:Okkervil River Added:09/2013
Label:Ato Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2013-09-15 Pull Date:2013-11-17 
Week Ending:17 Nov10 Nov3 Nov27 Oct20 Oct13 Oct6 Oct29 Sep

Recent Airplay
1.Fri, 13 Mar 20:Francis D
KZSU Time Traveler
4.Fri, 26 Jul 19:Francis D
KZSU Time Traveler
2.Fri, 22 Nov 19:Francis D
KZSU Time Traveler
5.Fri, 31 Aug 18:Francis D
KZSU Time Traveler
3.Fri, 27 Sep 19:Francis D
KZSU Time Traveler
6.Fri, 27 Jul 18:Francis D
KZSU Time Traveler

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-09-16 
Rock and roll indie pop. Critic darlings continue their rise to the mainstream with new release on new label digs (formerly of Jagjaguwar). They started as a gothic, dynamics-heavy, rough-edge, depressing, ramshackle Austin folk band and have completed the transformation to jam-packed, glossy, middle-of-the-road, huge rock ‘n roll Brooklyn p4k favorites. Frontman Will Sheff was an English major at Macalester College and so we get pages of literary, dense text on each song. Sheff revisits the 80s and his childhood on this album, so it’s very nostalgic and hits a lot of 50s and 70s pop tropes, sounding like a twist on very familiar melodic structures. RIYL: The Hold Steady, Titus Andronicus, pitchfork, The National, vocalists like Bright Eyes.

*1. Big piano driven ballad. (4:26)
*2. Upbeat, prominent horns and backing vocals lend a soul/dance(?) feel. (3:04)
*3. FCC shit? 80s Springsteen keys/synth hook, driving pop. (6:32)
4. Twangier, wordier, bendy synth parts, handclaps. (3:40)
5. Very slow and quiet with grand vocal reaches and then picks up last minute. (5:31)
6. Ooh baby baby it’s a wild world. (3:47)
7. Catchy epic march. (3:06)
8. Synth lead, funkier, twirling, gliding, monotone-vocaled “forever young”? (4:19)
9. Lingering chords, methodic rock and roll rumble, and slow build. (5:00)
10. FCC, triumphant horns, mid-tempo melancholic tint (4:37)
11. slower, slide guitar dreamier and mellow, sad (4:58)

Track Listing
1.It Was My Season 6.Where The Spirit Left Us
2.On A Balcony 7.White
3.Down Down The Deep River 8.Stay Young
4.Pink-Slips 9.Walking Without Frankie
5.Lido Pier Suicide Car 10.All The Time Every Day
 11.Black Nemo