Disappears / Era
Album: Era   Collection:General
Artist:Disappears   Added:Sep 2013

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-09-29 Pull Date: 2013-12-01
Week Ending: Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 17 Nov 10 Nov 3 Oct 27 Oct 20 Oct 13
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 2 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 30, 2016: Life Aquatic
4. Nov 27, 2013: Meow After Midnight
2. May 07, 2015: The Sunset Life
Elite Typical
5. Nov 21, 2013: KZSU Trainee Party
3. Jan 19, 2014: The Sunset Life
6. Nov 14, 2013: The Sunset Life
New House

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-10-01
Disappears have been honing their gritty noir-rock without cease for the past few years, but with Era they’ve made a quantum leap. This is intense, texturally rich, monomaniacal, terrifying, danceable, epic. References to a romance fraught with grief pop up, and song titles like “Power” and “Elite Typical” barely scratch the surface of the anguish on display here. Makes so much other music seem emotionally small-stakes in comparison. Holy cow. All tracks rule, but 1, 3, 6 are particularly mind-blowing. No FCCs detected, though in several places the lyrics are frustratingly hard to decipher, even after multiple listens.

1. *(3:51)—Mid-tempo but super loud. Scary as hell, truly. Unnervingly repetitive like Suicide, but with 1000+ guitars. Free-fall climax, singer screams “Wake up!” over and over. Feedback.
2. (4:12)—Medium-slow, far-out, sexy, wah-wah noir-blues.
3. *(9:33)—Fast, relentless, spacious. The primal, hypnotic, one-note rock of My Disco trapped in a tunnel deep underground. When I first heard this I flipped out. This would get good play at Satan’s disco.
4. (3:46)—Slowdance for vampires. Mournfully pretty, even in its heavier parts.
5. (4:11)—Mid-tempo, driving, bare-bones, tripped out rock ’n’ roll. Like a twisted parody of the Madness song “Our House.”
6. *(7:53)—Fast, massive, psycho-meditation post-punk. Elliptical, angry lyrics about romance and social class. The extended coda features a killer goth-Western bassline and molten guitars; I’d be fine if it went on for another half hour.
7. (6:40)—Slow and subdued. This is dank music. Dank, dank, dank. And creepy. Sweet dreams.

Track Listing
1. Girl   4. Era
2. Power   5. Weird House
3. Ultra   6. Elite Typical
  7. New House