Of Montreal / Lousy With Sylvianbriar
Album: Lousy With Sylvianbriar   Collection:General
Artist:Of Montreal   Added:Oct 2013
Label:Polyvinyl Record Co.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-10-17 Pull Date: 2013-12-19
Week Ending: Dec 15 Dec 8 Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 17 Nov 10 Oct 27 Oct 20
Airplays: 2 4 2 8 1 5 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 17, 2014: A Visit From Drum (Legacies)
Fugitive Air
4. Dec 26, 2013: Stringless Balloon Pt. 2
Triumph Of Disintegration
2. Apr 03, 2014: Stringless Balloon
Triumph Of Disintegration
5. Dec 14, 2013: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told To Hervey Okkles
Sirens Of Your Toxic Spirit
3. Jan 02, 2014: KZSU Top 100 of 2013
Fugitive Air
6. Dec 10, 2013: late nite dryer
Fugitive Air

Album Review
Wallace Brontoon
Reviewed 2013-10-17
Of Montreal, poppy retro weirdos from Athens, GA, go a new direction: abandoning dance music to go back to their folkier roots. I personally think Cherry Peel and the Gay Parade are two of the greatest albums of the '90s, so no complaints here. This album is a winner-- think strummy folky '60s hippy-dippy bubblegum, a dose of straightahead country-western, but a lot of '60s psychey retro flavor, and you have a good picture. Every track is a winner (though #1 stands apart). FCC on #3.

1. (4:13) ****** Fuzzy and strummy, snarly vox. Cuts into different sections with amazing hooks, countryish '60s-bubblegummy rocker. Real winner... Kicks into more hazy sleepy folky style at 1:30 left (with baroque language choices)... so much in this one.
2. (3:54) **** SLOW, funky tones. Ballad folk slow singalong warbling. Full-bodied folky-psychey hippieish chorus, ten-part harmony.
3. (5:55) [FCC: shit] ** Country-fried guitar riffs and deliberate whiney vox verses-- on and on in weird Arlo/Dylanish whorls 
4. (4:06) **** Etheral, slow strummy guitar, and a weird eight-part harmony which pops up, kind of Gordon Lightfooty. Dirgey and sweet and hippieish...
5. (3:36) ** Midtempo funky and sweet sound, arching syrupy hooks.
6. (4:12) **** More of that dancey Princey Paralytic Stalks sound (or the general 2002-on Of Montreal sound)... screamy intro and "ooh ooh ooh" chorus. 2:30 left, gets stompy and emphatic and chanty. Then into a breezy swanky piano dash...
7. (5:04) *** Slow, sad, with beautiful country-western steel guitar in background, mopey and pretty chorus.
8. (3:40) ** Midtempo mild and clicky, until fierce guitar buzzes on, and it goes into snarly rude chorus
9. (4:02) **** Jug-band + psychey Dylanish stomper, uptempo repetitive structure; lyrics about anti-war stuff, then weirder, then much weirder. Fake fade out.
10. (2:47) *** Somber strings opening... female vocals, dreamy atmosphere.
11. (4:01) **** Dark instruments to open, weird stoned vox. Confused (again, Dylanish), rambly and pretty likeable

-Hervey Okkles

Track Listing
1. Fugitive Air   6. Triumph Of Disintegration
2. Obsidian Currents   7. Amphibian Days
3. Belle Glade Missionaries   8. She Ain't Speakin' Now
4. Sirens Of Your Toxic Spirit   9. Hegira Emigre
5. Colossus   10. Raindrop In My Skull
  11. Imbecile Days