Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin / Fly By Wine
Album: Fly By Wine   Collection:General
Artist: Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin   Added:Oct 2013
Label: Polyvinyl Record Co.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-10-24 Pull Date: 2013-12-26
Week Ending: Dec 22 Dec 15 Dec 8 Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 17 Nov 10 Nov 3
Airplays: 1 1 3 2 2 3 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 13, 2015: Radio Personality
Harrison Ford
4. Dec 20, 2013: Time Traveler
Nightwater Girlfriend
2. Jan 01, 2014: Meow
5. Dec 13, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
Young Presidents
3. Dec 27, 2013: Time Traveler (Bonus Edition)
Harrison Ford
6. Dec 06, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
Harrison Ford

Album Review
Alejandra Salazar
Reviewed 2014-02-05
Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin / Fly By Wine
Label: Polyvinyl Records

SSLYBY's newest album is a much more mature take on their musical blend of synth-based indie rock, slowing things down a bit from their previous lighter, pop/dance sound. There are still some lighter songs, definitely makes one think of a much chiller variation of MGMT and even a few Phoenix-esque guitar riffs can be found throughout. Perfect for a night drive, the album has mostly introspective/reflective tracks and sounds like autumn. FCC clean.

1. 3:28* Chill night drive sound. Incredibly smooth blend of percussion, synth, and atmospheric vocals.
2. 2:57 Very indie rock. Echoey, nice background vocals help drive the song. Reminiscent of MGMT.
3. 3:04 Background guitar matches the vocals and drives the song (lots of "ooooh"ing from both). Slower, has a retro, "grainy noise" feel.
4. 3:55 Harder to understand the lyrics (the echo is more pronounced). Really nice overlay of outside sound bites adds to "grainy noise".
5. 2:30 Very indie rock. A bit repetitive tune, but very pretty.
6. 2:38 Whimsical, upbeat. Really nice guitar strumming adds to the happy feel (and is that a bit of cowbell I hear?).
7. 2:45* Strong percussion keeps the otherwise floaty vocals and guitar grounded. Lovely background vocals and harmonizing.
8. 2:14* Vocals in this one have a really nice male/female balance. Slower song, but gorgeous intermingling of guitar and piano. Very, very chill.
9. 3:21* Guitar heavy; sometimes overwhelms the vocals (but it sounds so good). The "static" guitar sound balanced by the occasional electrifying strumming/solos.
10. 4:55 First half sounds really distant/echoey, but a shift halfway through the song brings the vocals down to earth a bit. Another shift further into the song (~3 mins) adds a bit of a electronic/synth feel. Really chilled out.

Track Listing
1. Harrison Ford   6. Loretta
2. Young Presidents   7. Unearth
3. Cover All Sides   8. Bright Leaves
4. Lucky Young   9. Nightwater Girlfriend
5. Ms. Dot   10. Fly By Wire