Molina, Juana / Wed 21
Album: Wed 21   Collection:General
Artist:Molina, Juana   Added:Nov 2013
Label:Crammed Discs  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-12-19 Pull Date: 2014-02-28
Week Ending: Feb 23 Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 12 Jan 5 Dec 29
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 24, 2016: does radio suck?
4. Feb 22, 2014: BravoMarco Variety Show
2. May 05, 2016: deep storage (radio seven)
5. Jan 25, 2014: Chillin with Diego
El Oso De La Guarda, Ay, No Se Ofendan, Eras
3. Dec 04, 2015: A Visit From Drum (All My Friends Are Animals)
El Oso De La Guarda
6. Jan 25, 2014: Music Casserole

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-12-13
Argentinian singer-songwriter Juana Molina’s first album in five years is a subtle and exquisite genre-bender—something like bladerunnercore-folk-pop from the jungle. The music glides along effortlessly, but the intricate arrangements have a riptide-like effect in their ability to sneak up and hook the ear. Catchy, but not overtly poppy. Cool quirky lyrics (in Spanish) about literal packrats, bug-cars, and noise haters. Favorites: 1, 3, 6, 8. No FCCs.

1. *(4:25)—Mid-tempo. 7/4 time. Subdued, funky. Music for creeping along the forest floor.
2. (3:17)—Mid-tempo. Off-kilter electronics, like being in a trippy arcade.
3. *(3:23)—Mid-tempo. Driving, chill verses. Trippy vocal layering on the choruses. Krautfolk? RIYL Moon Glyph.
4. (4:06)—Mid-tempo. Upbeat in a quiet way. Buzzing synth, plucked guitar.
5. (4:52)—Medium-fast, propulsive, noir-ish. Noisy and dissonant second half.
6. *(5:30)—Medium-slow, ominous, loping. Bloopy synths, polyrhythms. Picks up speed.
7. (4:34)—Mid-tempo. Folky intro moves into something funkier. Trippy harmonies.
8. *(6:39)—Medium-fast, driving, off-kilter. Slow, lush middle. Long, minimal, spacey coda.
9. (4:17)—Medium-slow. Starts just with bass and vocals. Woozy synths, synthetic bagpipes.
10. (4:18)—Mid-tempo, dissonant, chaotic, almost rocking.
11. (3:47)—Mid-tempo, four-on-the-floor. Tinny acoustic guitar, chopped vocal loop.

Track Listing
1. Eras   6. Ay, No Se Ofendan
2. Wed 21   7. Bicho Auto
3. Ferocísimo   8. El Oso De La Guarda
4. Lo Decidí Yo   9. Las Edades
5. Sin Guía, No   10. La Rata
  11. Final Feliz