Wallace, James & The Naked Light / More Strange News From Another Star
Album: More Strange News From Another Star   Collection:General
Artist:Wallace, James & The Naked Light   Added:Jan 2014
Label:Dialog Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-01-31 Pull Date: 2014-04-04
Week Ending: Apr 6 Mar 30 Mar 23 Mar 16 Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 23 Feb 16
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 2 3 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 29, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
The Wire (Reprise)/Kicked Down The Road
4. Jan 07, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
He'd Like To Hear It Once Again
2. Mar 10, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
He'd Like To Hear It Once Again
5. Mar 26, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Colored Lights
3. Nov 04, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Colored Lights
6. Dec 11, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Colored Lights

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2014-01-30
“More Strange News from Another Star” James Wallace & the Naked Light
Quirky, often experimental, really nice indie folk-rock with psych, jazz, blues, and gospel influences. Story-telling style of vocals that at its quirkiest, might take a little getting used to for a traditional folk listener — but should be perfect for our audience! Multiple instruments — from guitar, bass and organ to clarinet and brass, with a really interesting use of rhythms. While it’s hard to pick an artist to compare the band to, there are times you might hear a less-polished Paul Simon, the Grateful Dead or even Edward Sharpe. The project — Wallace’s second album — was originally intended to be released on cassette by an obscure Chinese label, which went belly-up before the album was finished. It was finally released by a U.S. indie label.
— Francis

Recommended: 4, 7, 2, 3, 5 No FCCs detected.

1. (0:35) This Wind’s Too Cold – Brief intro. Starts with a bell. Street sounds and voices — with toy piano tying it all together.
2. (4:42) Colored Lights – Fun! Quirky. Syncopated rhythm with handclaps, cowbell, brass, and other instruments. Catchy melody with otherworldly, high, nasally vocals. Really grows on you! ****
3. (3:45) Worse Things Have Happened – Starts a cappella. Becomes an indie folk-rock-pop song backed by fingerpicked guitar, which builds over time — adding drums and brass. Mix of traditional and experimental. Nice harmonies. Sax in lead break. Squiggles and spacey synths throughout. ***
4. (3:06) To the River – Intimate love ballad with softly spoken/sung vocals over delicate fingerpicked guitar. Amazing video too! ****
5. (4:58) He’d Like to Hear It Once Again – Another bouncy, fun melody. Folk flavor, but incorporates multiple instruments and complex rhythms. Earnest — if high — lead vocals with delicate female backup vocals. ***
6. (2:46) 4th Dimension or Living in Colorado – No lead vocals. Guitar, banjo, piano, glockenspiel, whistling. Simple sticks for rhythm. Some background vocals.
7. (4:21) The Wire (Reprise)/Kicked Down the Road – Strummy. Mid- to up-tempo. Male lead vocals with gospel-type singers in the background at the start. Tempo shifts 45 seconds in. Layers are added and the song builds to a loud, jammy ending. ****
8. (1:12) Everything Past Mars – Narration with simple drums underneath.
9. (4:49) The Coming (Shark’s Song) – Jazzy-bluesy. Male/female vocals open. Then, moves into a tune with jazzy stylings throughout. A variety of instruments and sounds, from bells to a saxophone. Narration added near end.
10. (3:46) Chopping Block – Country-folk flavor. Fiddle. Picked banjo. Slow shuffle about a hospital patient waiting for his time to die.
11. (1:12) Untitled (Hidden Track) – A coda. All instrumental. Like the end of the movie, with credits running until trail-out.

Track Listing
1. This Wind's Too Cold   6. 4th Dimension Or Living In Colorado
2. Colored Lights   7. The Wire (Reprise)/Kicked Down The Road
3. Worse Things Have Happened   8. Everything Past Mars
4. To The River   9. The Coming (Shark's Song)
5. He'd Like To Hear It Once Again   10. Chopping Block
  11. Untitled (Hidden Track)