Toy / Join The Dots
Album: Join The Dots   Collection:General
Artist:Toy   Added:Feb 2014
Label:Pias America  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-02-07 Pull Date: 2014-04-11
Week Ending: Apr 13 Apr 6 Mar 30 Mar 23 Mar 16 Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 23
Airplays: 2 3 2 2 4 5 4 7

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 08, 2016: Life Aquatic
Join The Dots
4. Feb 05, 2015: The Sunset Life
Join The Dots
2. Jun 04, 2015: The Final Sunset
Join The Dots
5. Jan 01, 2015: Meow: The Best Of 2014
Join The Dots
3. May 07, 2015: The Sunset Life
Join The Dots
6. Oct 09, 2014: The Sunset Life
Fall Out Of Love

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2014-02-06
In the wake of a previous band that disintegrated after one critically acclaimed but unreleased (?) album, this Brighton five-piece has quickly risen to the top of the current psych-rock pack. This album (TOY’s second) splits the difference between perfect pop and electrifying psych, and the music never ceases to rivet. On a plane with Tame Impala, The Horrors, The Chameleons, the best shoegaze. This is righteous. Five meows and lots of exclamation points. Honestly, every track is superb, but 4 just kills it. No FCCs detected.

1. (7:09)—Instrumental. Medium-slow, sedate, eminently danceable. Spacy synths, insistent bass. Rides on one note. Car-chase psych.
2. (4:43)—Mid-tempo. Swirling, jangly, jammy dream pop. Gorgeous.
3. (4:11)—Mid-tempo. Heavier but still gauzy. Deerhunter-ish.
4. **(7:59)—Fast. A trippy pop song embedded in a kraut-psych-noise odyssey to hypnotic heaven. YES!!!
5. (5:04)—Mid-tempo. Fuzzy, sugary, poppy. Trippy coda.
6. (4:33)—Medium-fast. The poppiest song. Warm guitars, shoegaze textures.
7. (4:05)—Fast, driving. Restrained first half, noisier second half. RIYL Captured Tracks.
8. (4:09)—Medium-fast, slick. Liquid guitars. Soft, fluttery synths.
9. (5:09)—Starts as a heavy medium-slow plod, speeds up and rides the motorik spaceship. Heavily processed vocals.
10. (4:07)—Starts slow, skyward, particularly reminiscent of Tame Impala. Like the previous track, this speeds up halfway through.
11. (9:53)—Medium-fast. Starts in lush krautrock mode. Shifts gears four minutes in, builds in intensity and rides into guitar paradise.

Track Listing
1. Conductor   6. Endlessly
2. You Won't Be The Same   7. It's Been So Long
3. As We Turn   8. Left To Wander
4. Join The Dots   9. Too Far Gone To Know
5. To A Death Unknown   10. Frozen Atmosphere
  11. Fall Out Of Love