War On Drugs, The / Lost In The Dream
Album: Lost In The Dream   Collection:General
Artist:War On Drugs, The   Added:Mar 2014
Label:Secretly Canadian  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-03-14 Pull Date: 2014-05-16
Week Ending: May 18 May 11 May 4 Apr 27 Apr 20 Apr 13 Apr 6 Mar 30
Airplays: 5 5 6 6 3 5 5 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 08, 2024: Tune Tales Shuffle
Lost In The Dream
4. Apr 22, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Lost In The Dream
2. Aug 24, 2023: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Under The Pressure
5. Jul 23, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
3. Sep 30, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Under The Pressure
6. Jul 04, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Mar 1, 2019)

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2014-03-07
This third album from Adam Granduciel & co makes an astronomical leap forward in sonic scope and emotional intensity from 2011’s Slave Ambient. It seems Granduciel decided to take a page from his former bandmate Kurt Vile and give his music room to stretch; half of these songs top the six-minute mark. Really, this album feels like the emotionally beleaguered but resolute twin sister of Vile’s Waking on a Pretty Daze. Pulsing, Technicolor American road music for the wide-eyed sad-sack. Drop-dead amazing from start to finish. Please don’t ask me for favorites. FCC WARNING: 8 (supposedly).

1. (8:52)—Mid-tempo. Rocking, big, a psychedelic take on the best 80s pop. Last three minutes are Minimum Entropy drone wash.
2. (4:59)—Fast, propulsive. Mellow verses that launch with well-placed “Woo!”s into psych-Springsteen.
3. (6:03)—Slow, twangy, alluring, extremely relaxing.
4. (7:12)—Fast, major-key, toward post-punk. Brings the chorus in late, builds so gradually that its sonic power near the end is almost sinister. Ends suddenly.
5. (6:52)—Mid-tempo, especially hazy. 80s drum sounds, oodles of red-hot guitars slicing through butter.
6. (5:56)—Mid-tempo. Strummed guitar, piano, pedal steel, and saxophone in a big bowl of triumphant twangy reverb soup. Awwww yeah.
7. (3:08)—Instrumental. Drooooooone. Preeeetty. Fades into 8.
8. (5:48)—FCC WARNING (can’t hear anything, but the label says FCC, so okay). Throbbing synth bass intro. More psych-Springsteen rock ‘n’ roll. Epic.
9. (4:10)—Medium-slow. The most country-tinged tune here. The lead guitars glisten. This is so beautiful.
10. (7:41)—Medium-slow, very spacey. Long ambient intro. Drums enter halfway through. Absurdly heartbreaking and huge. Yes!

Track Listing
1. Under The Pressure   6. Eyes To The Wind
2. Red Eyes   7. The Haunting Idle
3. Suffering   8. Burning
4. An Ocean In Between The Waves   9. Lost In The Dream
5. Disappearing   10. In Reverse