Laibach / Spectre
Album: Spectre   Collection:General
Artist:Laibach   Added:Apr 2014
Label:Mute Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-04-18 Pull Date: 2014-06-20
Week Ending: Jun 8 May 11 Apr 27
Airplays: 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 07, 2014: Music Casserole
3. Apr 23, 2014: Brownian Motion
Eat Liver!
2. May 10, 2014: BravoMarco Variety Show
Eat Liver!
4. Apr 21, 2014: Deathcrush
See That My Grave Is Kept Clean

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-04-15

Reviewed by BravoMarco

Often disturbing, sinister sounds - made to go marching down to the shops to. Thought provoking, combined with that dark edgy humor – That is what you expect (me, in any case) from seminal Slovakian band Laibach. This release is not the industrial, experimental cutting edge of old. Some flicker of their dancier numbers & fun from the early-mid eighties, but none of that uneasiness that made them so appealing. Mixing it up between the low male growl & female vox. Originally similar to: Front 242, DiJ, E Neubauten, Nitzer Ebb, SPK, The Glove, Kraftwork…
Liking: 3 & just about 11 & 14 – Maybe I am missing something with this release.

FCC’s *2 Rest OK

1) The Whistleblowers (3.31) Starts off with a whistling military march (very similar to a risqué song that every British schoolboy used to know at an early age) Stomps along with the horns & big band feel.
2) *No History (3.17) Male & female vox. “Fucking” Bright & breezy enough. Distinctive Euro sound.
3) Eat Liver! (3.11) Pulsating throbbing blips. Shades of the old Laibach. Female voice delivers the liver…
4) Americana (4.29) Mild synthy number. Neither here nor there.
5) We Are Millions And Millions Are One (4.23) Thumps along, standard electro 80’s pop fare.
6) Eurovision (4.38) Think - “Ultravox’s- Vienna” without the atmosphere.
7) Walk With Me (3.55) Synth effects with both singers in this slowish heavy percussion paced track.
8) Bossanova (3.11) Faster pounding assault – wish it were an instrumental.
9) Resistance is Futile (6.55) Start is promising, then it goes all over the place. Very busy indeed.
10) Koran (5.22) Slowing it down, with piano accompaniment & occasional synth explosion.
11) The Parade (4.05) Happy Clappy...Horns add to the fun.
12) Love On The Beat (3.21) In French & English. Mixture of everything before.
13) Just Say No! (2.31) Beats banging along merrily.
14) See That My Grave Is Kept Clean (4.05) Up beat wild fun version of this classic.

Track Listing
1. The Whistleblowers   8. Bossanova
2. No History   9. Resistance Is Futile
3. Eat Liver!   10. Koran
4. Americana   11. The Parade
5. We Are Millions And Millions Are One   12. Love On The Beat
6. Eurovision   13. Just Say No!
7. Walk With Me   14. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean