Fresh & Onlys, The / House Of Spirits
Album: House Of Spirits   Collection:General
Artist:Fresh & Onlys, The   Added:Jun 2014
Label:Mexican Summer  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-06-06 Pull Date: 2014-08-08
Week Ending: Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 22
Airplays: 2 3 3 4 4 3 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 31, 2022: Stranded at Settembrini's (rebroadcast from Mar 17, 2022)
Bells Of Paonia
4. Feb 27, 2015: The Sunset Life (Shayde Sartin and Sonny Smith are Cool Guys)
Who Let The Devil
2. Mar 22, 2022: Stranded at Settembrini's (rebroadcast from Mar 17, 2022)
Bells Of Paonia
5. Feb 05, 2015: The Sunset Life
3. Mar 17, 2022: Stranded at Settembrini's
Bells Of Paonia
6. Jan 22, 2015: The Sunset Life
Who Let The Devil

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2014-06-05
Of all the bands that have been part of SF’s [somewhat deteriorating] rock ‘n’ roll community, The Fresh & Onlys have always stood out for their impeccable pop songwriting. And they’re continuing their winning streak with this new album influenced by singer Tim Cohen’s time in Arizona. Supposedly this is meant to be divided into halves, with Side A evoking dreams and Side B leaping into alertness. But, honestly, the whole thing has that dreamy, sugary, catchy potency that TF&O conjure so well. Everything’s great. Favorites: 2, 3, 6, 7, 10. No FCCs.

1. (3:52)—Starts as a slow ballad. Launches into loping, dreamy rock.
2. *(3:55)—Medium-fast. Cross between driving classic rock and sunny psych. Really beautiful.
3. *(4:25)—Medium-fast. Hypnotic and huge, like Suicide run through a shoegaze treatment plant. YES. YES.
4. (4:05)—Medium-slow, heavy on the psych and western styling.
5. (3:48)—Slow, insistent beat. Lazy, soft, a little folky, less sonically dense.
6. *(3:21)—Fast, loud, punky. TF&O go full tilt and lose the dreaminess. Sounds a lot like “The Deluge of War” on their Soothsayer EP.
7. *(3:33)—Fast, bright, a bit less aggressive. Sing-along chorus.
8. (4:41)—Mid-tempo, soft, lush. An old ballad through a psych lens.
9. (4:34)—Slow, powerful, sultry beat. Restrained, sexy. Fuzzy choruses. Horns!
10. *(3:15)—Mid-tempo. Like an updated version of Suicide’s “Cheree.” Entrancing. Gets noisy. Long droning, haunting finish.

Track Listing
1. Home Is Where?   6. Hummingbird
2. Who Let The Devil   7. April Fools
3. Bells Of Paonia   8. Ballerina
4. Animal Of One   9. Candy
5. I'm Awake   10. Madness