Arch Enemy / War Eternal
Album: War Eternal   Collection:General
Artist:Arch Enemy   Added:Jul 2014
Label:Century Media  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-07-25 Pull Date: 2014-09-26 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Sep 28 Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 24 Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 01, 2023: Music Casserole
You Will Know My Name
4. Apr 21, 2015: Sounds of the Underworld
You Will Know My Name
2. Sep 09, 2016: The Pocket
War Eternal
5. Mar 17, 2015: Sounds of the Underworld - Extended
No More Regrets
3. Sep 01, 2015: Sounds of The Underworld
You Will Know My Name
6. Nov 11, 2014: Sounds of the Underworld
You Will Know My Name

Album Review
Dark Emperor
Reviewed 2014-07-18
Long Awaited return of female-fronted Melodic Death Metal. New vocalist but same musical identity even after missing one of the Amott brothers. Alissa White-Gluz of The Agonist does a great job replacing Angela Gossow, but the band is still in a creative slump rehashing their old glories... not to say that this release is bad by any means. Filled with female growls, brilliant guitar solos, and formulaic song writing in the shape of: Heavy riffs, melodic passage, solo, heavy riffs... repeat.

1. (1:12) - Typical lame instrumental intro. 1 out of 5.
2. (3:43) - Solid warm-up, harsh vocals, melodic Thrashy riffs. Some Children of Bodom similarities thanks to killer guitar solos. 3 out of 5.
3. (4:16) - Decent headbanging tune. Alissa shows her growling powers and that she can actually sound like a dude growling, unlike Angela. Uber catchy melodic passages 4 out of 5.
4. (4:01) - Filler, boring and un-inventive song. Sounds like pieces of the previous tracks. 2 out of 5.
5. (4:05) - Very technically proficient song with tons of tempo changes and random things, one of the most interesting songs in this release. However, some tempo changes don't quite work. 4.5 out of 6. (4:37) - Power ballad (esque) song. Has that epic vibe of the band's earlier work with brilliant leads and tight drumming. Interesting use of atmospheric elements. 5 out of 5.
7. (1:10) - Guitar masturbation interlude.... better listen to some Vai or Petrucci.... bleh. 0 out of 5.
8. (2:58) - Simple, catchy, heavy track that is quite entertaining and good for a quick listen. 3.5 out of 5.
9. (5:23) - Creepy atmospheric opening slowly creeps into heavy riffing... and you know the rest. Not bad at all thanks to the symphonic atmospheric components, but the formula is always the same. 3 out of 5.
10.(4:04) - The best of Arch Enemy meets Meshuggah meets Dark Tranquility. The best song in this release thanks to all the ideas and elements they flawlessly put together from other bands. 5 out of 5.
11.(4:38) - Bombastic and melodic, epic leads and crushing vocals. This album nicely transformed from 'more of the same' to a bit of 'more of the same' + dramatic atmospheric elements. 4 out of 5.
12.(3:47) - And we are back to more of the same.... not bad but just underwhelming. 3 out of 5.
13.(3:29) - Dark and moody song, quite enjoyable to bring the mood down with some epic riffing and melodic leads. 4 out of 5.

FCC: 3, However, not even the most trained growl-dechiperer could find them on the first listen.

Recommended: 6,10,5,11,2,13 In that particular order!

Track Listing
1. Tempore Nihil Sanat (Prelude In F Minor)   7. Graveyard Of Dreams
2. Never Forgive, Never Forget   8. Stolen Life
3. War Eternal   9. Time Is Black
4. As The Pages Burn   10. On And On
5. No More Regrets   11. Avalanche
6. You Will Know My Name   12. Down To Nothing
  13. Not Long For This World