Bachman, Daniel / Orange County Serenade
Album: Orange County Serenade   Collection:General
Artist:Bachman, Daniel   Added:Aug 2014
Label:Bathetic Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-08-08 Pull Date: 2014-10-10
Week Ending: Oct 12 Oct 5 Sep 28 Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 17
Airplays: 4 2 1 1 3 3 4 4

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 19, 2017: Narnia
And Now I Am Born To Die
4. Apr 28, 2015: Daydream Disaster
Coming Home, Blue Mass
2. Mar 05, 2016: Narnia
And Now I Am Born To Die
5. Feb 19, 2015: The Sunset Life
Coming Home
3. Jan 03, 2016: Breakaway Bluff
Pig Iron
6. Jan 08, 2015: The Sunset Life
Orange County Serenade

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2014-08-03
Still in his early twenties, Virginia steel string guitarist Daniel Bachman has plowed his way into the circle of the best American guitarists going, leaving a slew of exhilarating releases along his trail. His new release shucks off the accompanying instruments of his previous album Jesus I’m a Sinner, and many of the pieces in here are in the meditative keys of D Major/Minor, resulting in an album of intense focus. As always, RIYL all American folk guitarists (though this makes me think particularly of Leo Kottke’s 6- and 12- String Guitar). Favorites: 3, 5, 7, 8. No words, no FCCs.

1. (5:18)—Opening raga-like, minor key drone. Comes out swinging, with cascading steel strings that part to welcome an intense but less busy final third.
2. (3:58)—Slow, stark, with slide guitar.
3. *(4:28)—Tumbles along in a peppy but easygoing way. DADGAD meditations.
4. (5:12)—First half is bouncy slide. Kicks into a lower gear before coming full circle.
5. *(6:58)—Dramatic intro. Fast and tense, meandering. Becomes slower and gentler over time.
6. (3:32)—Slow, (mostly) 12-bar slide country blues.
7. *(6:42)—Heavy classical Indian influence. First half is the droning intro, second half is upbeat and faster.
8. *(2:25)—Slow, melancholy, very pretty.

Track Listing
1. Blue Mass   5. And Now I Am Born To Die
2. Coming Home   6. Orange County Serenade
3. Pig Iron   7. Up And Down The C & O
4. Little Lady Blues   8. We Would Be Building