Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Phox / Phox
Album:Phox Collection:General
Artist:Phox Added:08/2014
Label:Partisan Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2014-08-08 Pull Date:2014-10-10 
Week Ending:12 Oct5 Oct21 Sep14 Sep7 Sep31 Aug24 Aug17 Aug

Recent Airplay
1.Sat, 16 May 20:Mr. Bones
Hanging in the bone yard
4.Tue, 14 Oct 14:Members of Cladio Rub
Cladio Rub
2.Mon, 25 Jul 16:Zoë
5.Tue, 07 Oct 14:Members of Cladio Rub
Cladio Rub
3.Thu, 11 Dec 14:Zoë
6.Mon, 06 Oct 14:alsal
Deep Sea Didgeridoo

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-08-08 
Phox is a group of six friends that attended high school together in Baraboo,WI. They make delicate, yet quirky folk indie songs that are impossible not to like. Charming, gorgeous, and soulful female vocals. RIYL The Head and The Heart, The Paper Kites, Bon Iver (Many songs off this album are recorded in his studio). Although, Phox doesn't sound like the typical indie folk/pop coming out. They're unique and definitely a breath of fresh air. I personally love this whole album. I especially recommend: 3, 4, 5, 7, 8
FCC clean.

1. Calico Man (1:58): Slow and mysterious. Almost a cappella.
2. Leisure (3:26): Medium tempo, easy-going and relaxing sounds. Prominent orchestral strings.
3. Slow Motion (4:55): Folk pop with whistling and banjoes. Lovely and catchy chorus.
4.1936 (3:29): Fast strings and drums with a bubbly melody. Pretty, flowing vocals.
5. Evil (4:33): Simple and sweet medium tempo song. Starts out with banjo picking. Then, awesome trumpets in the interlude.
6. Laura (6:08): Slowing it down for this 6 minutes track. Beautiful, gentle vocals. Builds up throughout the song
7. Kingfisher (3:11): Ornate and fun intro. a little odd, but I really like it. (*Goddamn, I don't think that's a FCC though)
8. Shrinking Violets (3:51): Such a sweet, gentle song. There's a flute solo! enough said
9. Satyr and the Fawn (3:52): Mellow with breezy vocals.
10. Noble Heart (5:23): Beautiful, simple piano. Starts out slow, but builds. Changes vibes @3:16 with an electric guitar solo. Upbeat with horns until the end.
11. Raspberry Seed (7:17): Mellow, slow 7 minute track.
12. In Due Time (2:22): Ends with a lovely, sweet folk song. Slow tempo, beautiful vocals, acoustic guitar.

Track Listing
1.Calico Man 7.Kingfisher
2.Leisure 8.Shrinking Violets
3.Slow Motion 9.Satyr And The Faun
4.1936 10.Noble Heart
5.Evil 11.Raspberry Seed
6.Laura 12.In Due Time