Lindy Vision / Pink + Black
Album: Pink + Black   Collection:General
Artist:Lindy Vision   Added:Aug 2014

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-09-19 Pull Date: 2014-11-21
Week Ending: Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 2 Oct 26 Oct 19 Oct 12 Sep 28 Sep 21
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 17, 2014: in The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand
Pink + Black
4. Oct 20, 2014: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand
Pink + Black
2. Nov 11, 2014: funk to folk
Pink + Black
5. Oct 16, 2014: The Peninsula Report
Pink + Black
3. Oct 30, 2014: Meow
Pink + Black
6. Oct 12, 2014: the springfield law review
Pistol Fight

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2014-09-19
Pink + Black is the debut EP from Albuquerque’s Lindy Vision. The sister trio is made up of lead vocalist/synth player Dorothy Cuylear, lead guitarist Natasha Cuylear, and drummer/beat maker Carla Cuylear. In 2012, the band went under a name change from Black Natives to Lindy Vision. The trio’s music is catchy, synthesizer-driven post-punk with great vocal work. Most of the songs share similar instrumentation, particularly the mid-tempo electronic beat found in a lot of early 1980s synth pop music. If the trio speeds up the beat in future recordings, their sound will expand into interesting territories. Two strengths found in Pink + Black are the lyrics and singer Dorothy Cuylear. In a way, both elements link Lindy Vision to legendary female fronted acts like Le Tigre or the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, which with their characteristic raw personal lyrics and a charismatic singer, carved their own identity. A promising debut nonetheless.

RIYL: Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Pow!, Le Tigre, Lene Lovich, Grimes, and, Y Pants.

Recommended Tracks: 1 [FCC], 4 , & 5

1. (3:34) *Gone Away – FCC (fuck). Great intro with catchy riffs, nice vocals, and a continuous dancy beat.
2. (3:49) Bad Things – A nice companion to the previous track. Cool guitars.
3. (3:16) I’ll Follow You – Another guitar/synth driven track.
4. (3:15) *Pistol Fight – Dense downbeat track with strange lyrics.
5. (3:50) **Pink & Black – Lindy Vision most polished track. Totally playable.

Track Listing
1. Gone Away   3. I'll Follow You
2. Bad Things   4. Pistol Fight
  5. Pink + Black