New Pornographers, The / Brill Bruisers
Album:Brill Bruisers Collection:General
Artist:New Pornographers, The Added:Sep 2014
Label:Matador Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2014-09-12 Pull Date:2014-11-14 
Week Ending:Nov 16Nov 9Nov 2Oct 26Oct 19Oct 12Oct 5Sep 28

Recent Airplay
1.Dec 02, 2022:KZSU Time Traveler
Champions Of Red Wine
4.Oct 30, 2020:KZSU Time Traveler
Dancehall Domine
2.Oct 29, 2021:KZSU Time Traveler
Dancehall Domine
5.Jul 03, 2020:KZSU Time Traveler
War On The East Coast
3.Jun 11, 2021:KZSU Time Traveler
Champions Of Red Wine
6.Jan 24, 2020:KZSU Time Traveler
Champions Of Red Wine

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-09-11 
Sixth studio album from one of my favorite collaborative indie rock bands: The New Pornographers. For those who don't know, New Pornographers are made up of Neko Case, AC Newman, and Destroyer's Dan Bejar. I have been waiting for this album and it did not disappoint. So so good. I've only listened through once so far but I feel like I will like it even more the more I listen to it. Sounds like a typical New Pornographers album, so my descriptions will be kept to who sings on the track and tempo :)

FCC WARNINGS: Track 4 (Shit), Track 13 (Shit)
Favorites: 1, 2, 3, 6, 9, 10

1. (2:56) Brill Bruisers - Big sound to start, mid/up tempo, mainly AC Newman, Neko on backup vox.
2. (3:41) Champions Of Red Wine - Cool synth up tempo. Neko lead vox.
3. (3:27) Fantasy Fools - Up tempo, super cool vocal harmonizing. AC Newman takes the lead, Neko backs him up and harmonizes.
4. FCC WARNING: SHIT (3:58) War On The East Coast - The Destroyer track :) Of course it is profane so you can't play it but it is awesome.
5. (4:24) Backstairs - Weird electronic intro, kind of awesome. Another AC Newman/Neko collab.
6. (4:19) Marching Orders - Up tempo, great sound, Neko takes the lead on this one.
7. (1:28) Another Drug Deal Of The Heart - Short, jumpy, Neko lead.
8. (2:56) Born With A Sound - Some spoken word at the top of the track, Dan on vocals on this one, Neko backs him up.
9. (2:56) Wide Eyes - Mid-tempo track, AC Newman lead vox.
10. (3:19) Dancehall Domine - Up tempo, danceable, AC Newman and Neko share this track.
11. (2:21) Spidyr - Another Destroyer song, down/mid tempo, harmonica...
12. (3:16) Hi-Rise - Mid tempo, AC Newman lead.
13. FCC WARNING: SHIT (4:06) You Tell Me Where - Awesome song, too bad we cant play it.

Track Listing
1.Brill Bruisers 7.Another Drug Deal Of The Heart
2.Champions Of Red Wine 8.Born With A Sound
3.Fantasy Fools 9.Wide Eyes
4.War On The East Coast 10.Dancehall Domine
5.Backstairs 11.Spidyr
6.Marching Orders 12.Hi-Rise
 13.You Tell Me Where