Collina, Alessandro & Rodolfo Cervetto, Marc Peilon, Fabrizio Bosso / Michel On Air
Album: Michel On Air   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Collina, Alessandro & Rodolfo Cervetto, Marc Peilon, Fabrizio Bosso   Added:Oct 2014
Label:Iti Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-10-31 Pull Date: 2015-01-02 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Dec 28 Dec 21 Nov 23 Nov 16
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 05, 2017: Rebop
Hidden Joy
4. Dec 24, 2014: Pumping Iron
Hidden Joy
2. Jan 04, 2015: Clean Copper Radio
Little Peace In C For You
5. Dec 15, 2014: Clean Copper Radio
In A Sentimental Mood
3. Jan 03, 2015: Music Casserole
Play Me
6. Nov 17, 2014: clean copper radio
Hidden Joy, Hidden Joy

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-10-30
– General Description: Four European jazz players unite to create a rich and outstanding interpretation of the music of Michel Petrucciani (mee-KEHL peh-TRUU-chee-ah-nee), a French jazz pianist. Considered one of the most accomplished jazz pianists of his generation, Petrucciani died in 1999 at the age of 36. If you've been away from listening to any modern jazz - this is an excellent album to persuade you to return to the habit. Absolutely gorgeous. The comparison of Fabrizio Bosso to Wynton Marsalis is completely valid. His playing is smooth and succulent with fluid chromatic articulation and complete command of the trumpet's dynamic capabilities.
– Musicians:
Alessandro Collina (piano) - Italian pianist who performs regularly as a member of several groups doing long tours with several important Italian Jazz Festivals.
Rodolfo Cervetto (drums) - Italian drummer who has performed with several groups in festivals, clubs and theaters in Italy and abroad.
Marc Peillon (bass) - French bass player who has performed and recorded with many French and Italian jazz musicians throughout Europe.
Fabrizio Bosso (trumpet) - Italian post-bop jazz trumpeter; performs regularly with many groups in Europe; "Some have called him the Wynton Marsalis of Italy."
– Notes: All music written by Michel Petrucciani except Take the “A” Train (Billy Strayhorn) and In a Sentimental Mood (Duke Ellington).
– FCC Compliant:  YES
– Recommended Tracks: 4, 11, 6
– Track Reviews:
1. *** (5:37) Cantabile - moderate;  jazzy cocktail trumpet piece (pronounced cahn-TAH-bee-lay)
2. *** (3:18) Little Peace in C for You - animated; trumpet, piano and drum each solo
3. *** (5:20) Guadaloupe - mellow; bass and trumpet solos
4. ***** (4:43) Hidden Joy - leisurely; very beautiful and dreamy long sustained notes, bass solo
5. *** (5:09) Chloe meets Gershwin - medium; trumpet, piano, bass and drum each solo
6. **** (5:06) Play Me - medium-fast; begins with lots of reverb, very animal sounding, piano solo, if a caveman had a band this would be it
7. *** (5:38) Thirteenth - calm; Harmon muted trumpet for that Miles Davis sound, relaxed, a lovely chromatic descension by the piano towards the end
8. **** (4:04) Take the “A” Train - spirited; bass twice the tempo, trumpet half the tempo, piano solo, a very meaty version of Strayhorn's piece with a fun ending
9. *** (3:57) It's a Dance - relaxed; another dreamy piece 
10. *** (5:52) Brazilian Like - medium-fast; slow start then very up-tempo to a silky bossa nova
11. ***** (5:11) In a Sentimental Mood - languid;  "… it's a hot summer night …" very delicate, airy ending
12. *** (5:48) I Wrote You a Song - medium; a pleasant song that just sort of wanders, at the end the players saunter beautifully out the door while playing (good piece for the last song of a show)

Track Listing
1. Cantabile   7. Thirteenth
2. Little Peace In C For You   8. Take The "A" Train
3. Guadeloupe   9. It's A Dance
4. Hidden Joy   10. Brazilian Like
5. Chloe Meets Gershwin   11. In A Sentimental Mood
6. Play Me   12. I Wrote You A Song