Winterpills / Echolalia
Album: Echolalia   Collection:General
Artist:Winterpills   Added:Nov 2014
Label:Signature Sounds  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-11-14 Pull Date: 2015-01-16
Week Ending: Jan 18 Jan 4 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14 Dec 7 Nov 30 Nov 23
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 03, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Cry Baby Cry (Lennon/Mccartney)
4. Jan 01, 2015: Freshman Phenomenon
Time Of No Reply (Nick Drake)
2. Oct 09, 2015: Time Traveler
Cry Baby Cry (Lennon/Mccartney)
5. Dec 26, 2014: Time Traveler
Train Running Low On Soul Coal (Xtc)
3. Jan 16, 2015: Time Traveler
The Wolf Is On The Hill (Beck)
6. Dec 19, 2014: Time Traveler
Cry Baby Cry (Lennon/Mccartney)

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2014-11-12
“Echolalia” Winterpills
Winterpills is a five-piece band out of Northampton, Massachusetts — two hours west of Boston. The band has previously released four albums of indie folk-rock and chamber pop. This is largely a side project of two band members: Philip Price and Flora Reed, with only one track (#11) on which the full band performs. Nevertheless, it is labeled as a Winterpills album. “Echolalia” is a wonderful set of covers — and not your father’s covers either. The artists’ covered (which I’ve listed track-by-track below) range from Sharon Van Etten to Damien Jurado and The Go-Betweens, with only a few “name” bands (The Beatles, Beck, Buddy Holly, XTC). The artistry and creativity are exquisite, making this not simply a bunch of cheap copies, but rather a set of originals really worthy of your consideration.
— Francis

Recommended: 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 12. No FCCs detected.

1. (4:37) One Day (Sharon Van Etten) – Stately mid-tempo. Acoustic guitar and female vocals in the beginning, with layers of piano, tambourine and harmonies added as the song goes on. ****
2. (4:25) Time of No Reply (Nick Drake) – Droney psych-rock. Male vocals. Fuzzy guitar and crashing cymbals from time to time. ****
3. (3:50) From a Shell (Lisa Germano) – Dramatic psych-rock, noisy in places. Cello creates an ominous-sounding foundation in the choruses.
4. (4:08) Open your Eyes (Jules Shear) – Mid- to up-tempo with a nice beat. Lilting folk-rock with shimmering guitar and a dash of pedal steel. Male lead vocals. ***
5. (3:41) Learning the Game (Buddy Holly) – Strumming acoustic guitar pushed through a reverb effects generator to create a glistening, echo-y sound. Gets loud and a bit distorted towards the end.
6. (3:12) We’re the Same (Matthew Sweet) — Light and poppy synth bed. Great duet between Flora and Philip
7. (4:13) Bye Bye Pride (The Go-Betweens) – Wistful and dreamy chamber folk-pop, with pillow soft lead vocals that sound like Peter, Paul and Mary. ****
8. (2:56) Museum of Flight (Damien Jurado) – Guitar-driven folk-rock with throaty female lead vocals and male harmonies. Like an early Fleetwood Mac tune.
9. (4:09) Train Running Low on Soul Coal (XTC) – 1960s-style folk. Very stripped down and soulful, like a bluesy Buffalo Springfield tune. Builds to a rockin’ train rhythm at the end. ***
10. (3:24) A World Away from this One (Mark Mulcahy) – Gentle guitar and piano ballad with beautiful female vocals. Other instruments are layered in as well.
11. (4:28) The Wolf Is on the Hill (Beck) — Chamber folk-pop. The only track with the full Winterpills band on it.
12. (4:32) Cry Baby Cry (The Beatles) — Picked guitar. Falsetto male lead interchanges with female lead in middle verse. Electric guitar a la late 1960s Beatles in the lead break, plus a 45-second trail-out, also typical of Beatles of that era. ***

Track Listing
1. One Day (Sharon Van Etten)   7. Bye Bye Pride (The Go-Betweens)
2. Time Of No Reply (Nick Drake)   8. Museum Of Flight (Damien Jurado)
3. From A Shell (Lisa Germano)   9. Train Running Low On Soul Coal (Xtc)
4. Open Your Eyes (Jules Shear)   10. A World Away From This One (Mark Mulcahy)
5. Learning From The Game (Buddy Holly)   11. The Wolf Is On The Hill (Beck)
6. We're The Same (Matthew Sweet)   12. Cry Baby Cry (Lennon/Mccartney)