Deerhoof / Live On Kzsu's Wednesday Night Live July 26, 1995
Album: Live On Kzsu's Wednesday Night Live July 26, 1995   Collection:General
Artist:Deerhoof   Added:Nov 2014
Label:Outer a Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-11-28 Pull Date: 2015-01-30 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Feb 1 Jan 18 Jan 11 Dec 7
Airplays: 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 25, 2015: DSD
4. Dec 03, 2014: Brownian Motion
2. Jan 17, 2015: Music Casserole
5. Dec 01, 2014: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand
3. Jan 08, 2015: Deep Sea Didgeridoo

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2014-11-22
1995 recording of locals (via Tennessee) done good, from archived reel to reel tape. I keep telling people that Deer Hoof was an experimental noise band in their beginnings to much disbelief given their status as indie rock heroes for at least the last dozen years (the evolution was somewhat quick, but the period where the transition occurred is particularly interesting). This recording vindicates me: Pure Day of Noise in-studio improv, noise sources, bass, noise guitar, subtle vocalizations through cheap mics. The reel to reel transfer was a challenge for various reasons, one of which was it appears that distortion was used consciously in the recording (don’t blame me). Three long improv tracks plus a band interview.

1) intro
2) (18:49) big noise bass dominated, moaning vocalizations
3)* (7:03) with WNL host introducing the band, gets really noisey with the mic, sick, and then the outtro has them talk a little and the dj identifies them again, which I think is cool cuz your listeners will say “wtf?”
4) PSAs
5) (17:00) another improv, plenty of harsh sounds, lovely, with an intro and an outrro with the DJ saying who was playing plus a LID
6) (7;09) prerecorded track from a 7” at the time with dj intro, belies some of the female vocs they rely on today
7) (5:18) interview, humble kids tell where they came from, where the band’s name came from

Track Listing
1. Intro   4. Psas
2. I   5. Iii
3. Ii   6. Pre-Recorded Track From 7"
  7. Band Interview