Blake, James / 200 Press Ep
Album: 200 Press Ep   Collection:General
Artist:Blake, James   Added:Dec 2014
Label:1-800 Dinosaur  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-01-04 Pull Date: 2015-03-08 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Mar 8 Mar 1 Feb 22 Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25 Jan 18
Airplays: 1 1 3 3 2 2 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 15, 2016: subwoofer etc
200 Press
4. Apr 23, 2015: channel 0+i
200 Press
2. Sep 03, 2015: subwoofer etc
200 Press
5. Mar 13, 2015: A Visit From Drum Machine
200 Press
3. Jun 11, 2015: channel 0+i (sunset substitution jeuves gigante edition)
Building It Still
6. Mar 09, 2015: DSD
200 Press

Album Review
lionel hutz
Reviewed 2014-12-17
To me very reminiscent of his “Love What Happened Here” EP from 2011 (hip-hop samples, R&B textures, slightly dubby construction, mellow and spacey but propulsive, released just in time for the holidays). Great stuff, firmly in weird electronic mode (as opposed to weird electronic singer/songwriter mode).

RIYL: james blake, mount kimbie, pariah, airhead, hip-hop and R&B inflected electronic music in general

1. watery 80s/90s R&B keys, beat kicks in around :30, a steady 4/4 pulse, but it frequently gets breaky or drops out for a bit. more dramatic synth accents enter around the middle and give it a bit more drive. some great looped southern hip-hop vocal samples (andre3000’s guest spot on devin’s “what a job”, gangsta boo on “late nite tip”). kind of feels like the entirety of the “love what happened here” EP rolled into one song. also, i think this is the most fun/playful thing he’s ever written (maybe by a wide margin). 6:13
2. opens with glitchy found sound loop, then tense beat kicks in at :45, kind of 4/4, but kind of jumpy. steam hiss and echoed vocal snippets just after 1:00. dramatic video game sounds and bass enter around 1:45 and the whole thing takes on more of a slow rolling swagger. gets its push back at points throughout the rest. shades of CMYK EP. 4:51
3. mellow low-fi keys and pitched up vocals. pulsing skipping beat with occasional tasteful bass blurts. ticking breakdown with bass sweeps starts around 1:15. nice chopped and looped keys w/ 90s east coast hip-hop feel in second half. subdued, but purposeful. 4:25
4. gentle treated piano and spoken word vocals. 1:03

recommended: 1, any

Track Listing
1. 200 Press   3. Building It Still
2. 200 Pressure   4. Words That We Both Know