Black Taxi / Electroshock Death Grip
Album: Electroshock Death Grip   Collection:General
Artist:Black Taxi   Added:Jan 2015
Label:No Shame  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-01-09 Pull Date: 2015-03-13
Week Ending: Mar 15 Mar 8 Mar 1 Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 18
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 19, 2015: Meow
Electroshock Death Grip
4. Mar 12, 2015: Meow
Even Further
2. Mar 16, 2015: Clean Copper Radio
Take Off The Edge
5. Mar 07, 2015: Freshman Phenomenon DJ AY's Name
Even Further, Even Further, Ropes, Even Further
3. Mar 13, 2015: Distractions
Take Off The Edge
6. Feb 27, 2015: Distractions
Take Off The Edge

Album Review
Angel Lopez
Reviewed 2015-01-04
Arcade Fire meets The Bravery, experiments with funk.
FCC Clean!
favorites: 5, 6, 7, 9, 10
1. trumpet(?) in the intro, followed by some funky guitar, upbeat tempo, lively
2. funky sound with a modern rock/indie twist. Sounds similar to Arcade Fire’s Reflektor.
3. Beginning synth gives an eerie feeling to the song, vocals centered about one pitch, but not monotonously. Instrumental outweighs lyrical power. Sounds like a song made for a journey.
4. Sounds like 70s rock/pop with synths. More of a ballad/somber sound than the past songs, but still not depressing or anything. Just softer upbeat.
5. Synths are different and more powerful than before. Makes this much more of an electronic song than the funky electrorock sound from previous tracks. Still has a funk element though.
6. Slower, softer, electronic sound, then picks up to some catchier electronics. A bit of higher pitched guitar, but it’s clearly not the defining part of the instrumental.
7. Again, more electronic heavy than the beginning of the album. Upbeat, catchy, something you could potentially dance to. Mix of different synths, little guitar. Cheery synth pop/rock(?)
8. Whisper intro, then some simple rock/indie beat, add one weird melodic synth, then replace it with a lower pitched catchier synth, eventually add some simple guitar chords. Never an overwhelming amount of instruments. More simple than complex. Catchy! Less funky.
9. Similar to last track, slower, softer, not too complex, not too funky. Much catchier melody, not upbeat like beginning of the album, lyrics are great too. More of a song to appreciate than to dance to.
10. Beginning intro has trumpets like the first song, but this melody is much more somber and less upbeat. Not depressing though, but catchy, yes. Guitar funk element isn’t strong. Trumpet is recurring. Like the last two, this track’s lyrics are to be more appreciated than melody.

Track Listing
1. 21st Century   6. Ropes
2. Electroshock Death Grip   7. Take Off The Edge
3. Final Days   8. Pulseless
4. Even Further   9. Glai
5. Only Room For One Ninja In This Town   10. Into The Night