Boduf Songs / Stench Of Exist
Album: Stench Of Exist   Collection:General
Artist:Boduf Songs   Added:Apr 2015

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-04-03 Pull Date: 2015-06-05
Week Ending: Jun 7 May 31 May 24 May 17 May 10 May 3 Apr 26 Apr 19
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 2 4 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 04, 2015: Meow
My Continuing Battle With Material Reality
4. May 21, 2015: The Sunset Life
The Rotted Names
2. Jun 02, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [SPQ07]
Thwart By Thwart
5. May 18, 2015: Shytown
My Continuing Battle With Material Reality
3. May 28, 2015: The Sunset Life
My Continuing Battle With Material Reality
6. May 14, 2015: A Visit From Drum
My Continuing Battle With Material Reality

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2015-04-02
Sixth album from Mat Sweet’s gothic minded solo project. In the place of foreboding folk minimalism or aggressive, metallic textures, Sweet now gives us something that might be called anxiety dream pop. Instrumentals make up a large chunk of the album, but every track has a quality that is simultaneously enveloping, unsettling, and quietly gripping. In the past, Sweet sounded like a phantom letting listeners into worlds defined by enigma, shadow, and understated fear. Now, he’s not a phantom but a human being standing next to us, testifying to the mysteries and shadows we experience collectively every day. Favorites: 2, 3, 7, 8, 10. No FCCs detected.

1. (1:18)—Instrumental. Minimal, dark, with tortured electronics.
2. *(3:27)—Slow, calm, wistful electronic slowcore pop. Lovely.
3. *(5:12)—Medium-fast. Driving toms, piano heavy, subdued, amazing.
4. (1:27)—Instrumental. Cloudy drone.
5. (6:00)—Slow, calm, fragile, pretty. Long outro.
6. (5:25)—Creepy manipulated spoken word. Menacing bass-heavy beat. Dark, metallic ambient textures.
7. *(6:27)—Slow, spacious, minimal beat. Soft, ominous guitars. Lots of samples of crowd noises and glitches. Fake ending, long outro.
8. *(3:42)—Instrumental. Rain sounds and quiet, dark drones.
9. (6:54)—Slow drumbeat. Heavier, repetitive, swirling.
10. *(4:11)—Slow, sad, totally gorgeous. With tambourine and synth strings.
11. (3:53)—Instrumental. Cavernous sounds, computers dying at the bottom of a well.

Track Listing
1. Jacket Cruiser   6. Head Of Hollow-Fill And Mountaintop Removal
2. My Continuing Battle With Material Reality   7. The Rotted Names
3. Thwart By Thwart   8. Grows In The Small World Of Nerve
4. The Witch Cradle   9. Modern Orbita
5. Great Anthem Of My Youth   10. Last Song Save One
  11. Sky Pedal's Plan