Boats / Release
Album: Release   Collection:General
Artist:Boats   Added:Aug 2015

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-08-17 Pull Date: 2015-10-19
Week Ending: Oct 18 Oct 11 Sep 13 Sep 6 Aug 30
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 21, 2015: Home on the Range
Spider's Soul
4. Sep 07, 2015: Breakaway Bluff
2. Oct 15, 2015: radio seven
Spider's Soul
5. Sep 06, 2015: Meow After Midnight
Spider's Soul
3. Oct 07, 2015: Home on the Range
Spider's Soul
6. Sep 02, 2015: Breakaway Radio Bluff

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2015-08-15
Alternative rock. Acoustic guitar, electronic humming, and a heavily washed-out voice. I have no idea why the voice is so washed-out; I found it aggravating how difficult the lyrics were to understand, particularly when they seem to be central to understanding some of the songs. With that having been said: a couple of the songs on here are really promising and definitely radio-ready. Give this a try if you like alt rock that feels a bit dramatic.

Recommended: 3, 2

1) “Intro” (0:43): Some horn playing, with deep groaning sounds underneath. Probably ignore this.
2) “Spiders Soul” (3:50): Ambling pace. Guitars and drum do most of the work here, but there are some cool electronic accents.
3) “Shallows” (4:10): Great ragged guitar picking at the beginning. Emphatic chorus is memorable. Nice.
4) “Rabbits” (3:20): Voice isn’t distorted here; much more natural. Whistling sounds. Really pared back compared to the previous track. Sort of bursts open at the two-minute mark.
5) “Thats the Way” (3:50): This seems a bit more like a ballad, but the lyrics are so difficult to understand that I can’t say I liked it that much. Some great moving chord changes though.
6) “Hold the Knife” (3:20): Pensive. “Hold the knife and cut me clear.” Calm.

--Mr. Tumnus

Track Listing
1. Intro   4. Rabbits
2. Spider's Soul   5. That's The Way
3. Shallows   6. Hold The Knife