Barlow, Lou / Brace The Wave
Album: Brace The Wave   Collection:General
Artist:Barlow, Lou   Added:Oct 2015
Label:Joyful Noise  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-12-20 Pull Date: 2016-02-21
Week Ending: Feb 21 Feb 14 Feb 7 Jan 24 Jan 17 Jan 10 Jan 3 Dec 27
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 2 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 20, 2016: Mix Tape: The Legacy Lives On
4. Feb 06, 2016: Mix Tape: The Legacy Lives On
2. Feb 16, 2016: a strange pursuit
5. Jan 19, 2016: a strange pursuit
3. Feb 13, 2016: Music Casserole
6. Jan 12, 2016: a strange pursuit

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-12-24
Semi-lo-fi acoustic.
Lou Barlow’s first solo album in six years and first after the dissolution of his marriage. This one features a lot of ukulele and his signature lo-fi touches. It isn’t a breakup record, but rather a reflection on what the view is like after some space from the separation. More than drawing clear conclusions, it conveys a sense of ongoing, honest tensions, the mixed indignation and tenderness when moving on from someone you still care about. Contemplative music for late nights. FCC on 2.
Favorites: 4, 2(FCC), 1, 3, 7, 8
RIYL Sebadoh/any of Lou’s projects, Songs: Ohia, Elliott Smith, Kurt Vile, Neutral Milk Hotel, Mountain Goats

1. *(3:14) mid-fast. “memories are made of razor blades even if they’re good.” acoustic simple bass pluck accompanies higher strumming, add double tracking, beaut outro.
2. *(2:52) FCC f*cking mid. edgier/militant almost, beat echoing a march, softened by perfectly fuzzy strings (uke tremolo?). absolutely beautiful build… so good.
3. *(4:08) mid. frenzied/moody/sense of movement, great tempo, synthy/psychey parts out of nowhere are not my favorite but the rest still good
4. **(4:14) slow-mid. beautiful! stark vocals over high uke that grows loud and dramatic. staring aging and death in the face and asking who will be there by your side. heartbreaking…
5. (2:53) mid. sweet, easygoing, the complexity of warmth that lingers on. “I leave you alone/but don’t go.”
6. (2:33) slow-mid. sunny breezy fingerpicking juxtaposed with some vocal bitterness.. strumming becomes angry… Lou is angry… rinse and repeat
7. *(3:00) mid. love this… layers of double-tracked, fuzzy folk - NMH-like. disarming, of opening yourself up and then shutting everyone out - very real.
8. *(3:18) slow-mid. gentle uke makes up folk song about the embers burning at the end of the relationship. Lou’s voice is amazing here. listen to the note when he sings “down” to know that he’s a genius
9. (4:02) slow-mid. lovely triplet melody, tender, sad yet hopeful. love the line “a temper is a fragile thing/a beast when you’re alone.” sounds like he’s ready to move on.

Track Listing
1. Redeemed   5. Wave
2. Nerve   6. Lazy
3. Moving   7. Boudaries
4. Pulse   8. C + E
  9. Repeat