Von Hausswolff, Anna / Miraculous, The
Album: Miraculous, The   Collection:General
Artist:Von Hausswolff, Anna   Added:Jan 2016
Label:City Slang  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-01-25 Pull Date: 2016-03-27
Week Ending: Mar 27 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 28 Feb 21 Feb 14 Feb 7
Airplays: 2 1 3 3 1 3 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 26, 2016: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
4. Mar 11, 2016: Celtic by Caronis
The Miraculous, Discovery
2. Mar 22, 2016: a strange pursuit
Discovery, Come Wander With Me/Deliverance
5. Mar 10, 2016: radio seven
3. Mar 17, 2016: Life Aquatic
6. Mar 08, 2016: a strange pursuit
Come Wander With Me/Deliverance

Album Review
DJ Muscat
Reviewed 2016-01-22
Genre: fantasy, rock, doom&gloom, devotion, organ-core, drone

Huge, dazzling songs from this Swedish multi-instrumentalist. Inspired by a trip to one of the largest pipe organs in Scandinavia, “The Miraculous” tells the story of a group of children’s search for the holy. An evocative, immersive, gargantuan album.

Others: Swans, Chelsea Wolfe, Jenny Hval, Wovenhand

Favorites: 1, 9, 4, 7, 8, 3, 6

1. (8:45) **** Discovery - Brooding saxophone. Ethereal organ and metallic percussion evoke the feeling of setting foot in folklore. Amazing soaring melody takes over. A track of epic proportions. Strips down in the last third, with guitar and voice introduced.
2. (3:11) The Hope Only Of Empty Men - Organ melody and buried vocals. Subtle crackling. A pained string section carves through the wall of sound. Tense, foreboding, dissonant.
3. (2:13) ** Pomperipossa - Rhythmic, bright organ. Commanding vocal performance. Sun melting the fog off the mountain tops.
4. (10:49) *** Come Wander With Me/Deliverance - Sparse, slowly evolving melody. Vocals begin fragile but gain intensity. Electric guitar and drums crash in a third of the way through. Pounding, massive rock. Works its way into a huge Swans-esque groove.
5. (2:55) En ensam vandrare - Slow/mid tempo introspective mood-setter.
6. (3:01) ** An Oath - Drawn-out deep vocals. A martial beat joins in. Von Hausswolff in triumphant form.
7. (3:08) *** Evocation - Starts off right away with guitar feedback before bleeding into a lurching, slow ballad. Chilling moment when her voice comes to the fore and all but the organ drops out. Awesome ambient finish.
8. (9:59) * The Miraculous - Droning opening minutes. Ebbs into ghostly ambient territory. Fluttering bliss. Fake ending. Turns sour, a bit sinister.
9. (5:28) *** Stranger - Folky feel. One of the lighter, more lucid tracks. The sensation of slowly coming to a realization after a long journey. Beautiful beautiful stuff.

Track Listing
1. Discovery   5. En Ensam Vandrare
2. The Hope Only Of Empty Men   6. An Oath
3. Pomperipossa   7. Evocation
4. Come Wander With Me/Deliverance   8. The Miraculous
  9. Stranger