Night Moves / Pennied Days
Album: Pennied Days   Collection:General
Artist:Night Moves   Added:Apr 2016
Label:Domino Recording Company  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-05-01 Pull Date: 2016-07-03
Week Ending: Jul 3 Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22 May 15
Airplays: 2 2 2 1 2 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 13, 2017: National Treasure
Kind Luck
4. Jul 15, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
Leave Your Light On
2. Jan 13, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Carl Sagan
5. Jul 08, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
Leave Your Light On
3. Jul 18, 2016: ZoëRadio
Leave Your Light On
6. Jul 01, 2016: Time Traveler
Kind Luck

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2016-04-26
“Pennied Days” Night Moves
Indie psych-rock band from Minneapolis that blends the synthesizer and guitar in appealing ways. Band’s sophomore album. A number of the songs have a throwback sound — so the tracks seem at once familiar. Night Moves members are John Pelant and Micky Alfano. The tunes are all relatively sunny, with some darkness in the lyrics. The first three songs are segued together — especially Tracks 1 and 2 — so you could play them all and get nice compliments on your mixing skills from your listeners. :-)
— Francis

Recommended: 1, 2, 3, 5, 4, 9. No FCCs.

1. (3:53) Carl Sagan – Swept along by a dreamy synth soundscape and woozy guitar. Vocals go from Pelant’s upper range to a full falsetto. Reminiscent of Hall & Oates. ****
2. (3:50) Denise, Don’t Wanna See You Cry – Pulsing and swirling synths under. Rambling, train-like rhythm set up by bass and drums. Nice harmonies in the chorus. ****
3. (4:25) Leave your Light On – Bigger, jangly guitars. Big sky rock flavor — homage to Neil Young, Kurt Vile and The War on Drugs. ***
4. (3:34) Border on Border – Opens with bright piano riff that could be taken directly from a Todd Rundgren song. Leisurely tempo. Synth strings. Repeated runs from a mournful electric guitar. **
5. (3:26) Kind Luck – Rock ballad. Strummed guitar. Synth under. Simple rhythm that gets bigger as the song goes on. A bit of Bob Seeger maybe? (The band was named after his “Night Moves.”) **
6. (7:27) Hiding in the Melody — Long, slow burn. Sprawling, synth-laden epic featuring piano, big choruses and some edgy guitar in the lead breaks and play-out.
7. (4:51) Staurolite Stroll – Up-tempo pop-rock with both strummy and jangly guitar. Lead vocals in the upper registers. A few spacey elements added at the end.
8. (3:37) Alabama – Mid-tempo power-pop ballad. Big piano. Soulful vocals floating up high into a falsetto at times.
9. (4:26) Only to Live in your Memories – Melancholy closer. Swirling synths. Electric piano and guitar in counterpoint. Like a slow song from MGMT — with lead vocals that sound a bit like early Fleetwood Mac. **

Track Listing
1. Carl Sagan   5. Kind Luck
2. Denise, Don't Wanna See You Cry   6. Hiding In The Melody
3. Leave Your Light On   7. Staurolite Stroll
4. Border On Border   8. Alabama
  9. Only To Live In Your Memories