Stott, Andy / Too Many Voices
Album: Too Many Voices   Collection:General
Artist:Stott, Andy   Added:May 2016
Label:Modern Love  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-05-09 Pull Date: 2016-07-10 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22 May 15
Airplays: 4 2 2 2 4 3 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 15, 2024: Fermentation Station
New Romantic
4. May 17, 2017: All Passion No Technique
New Romantic
2. Feb 20, 2019: The Nick & James Show
Forgotten, New Romantic
5. Feb 22, 2017: deep storage
New Romantic
3. Nov 29, 2017: The Nick & James Show
New Romantic
6. Feb 16, 2017: All Passion No Technique

Album Review
DJ Muscat
Reviewed 2016-05-06
Genre: industrial techno, brit-no, experimental electronic

A giant of the modern electronic world, Manchester-native Andy Stott is back in business. Stripping back some of his heavier and vocal led arrangements from the last two albums (courtesy of the wonderful voice of Alison Skidmore), “Too Many Voices” plays with familiar drum machine and synth sound palettes. Perhaps a little more generic than his earlier material, but still chock full of amazing songwriting and sound design. Highly recommended.

Favorites: 9, 3, 7, 6, 5, 2, 1. No FCCs.

Others: Oneohtrix Point Never, Millie and Andrea, Container, Arca, Actress

1. (2:41) * Waiting For You - Meditative, eerie vocal pads. Collage-like style similar to Oneohtrix Point Never (but less hectic). Builds into a more predictable rhythm. Topped by some sharp synths. Cool. Moody. Ends cold.
2. (4:23) ** Butterflies - Tentative drum machine phrase. Lovely chorus-effected synths hover in the mix. Apathetic/erotic male vocals. Andy Stott make out music?
3. (5:40) **** New Romantic - Ghostly sustained backdrop. A mammoth, crunchy beat emerges. Atmospheric female vocals enthrall you. Really catchy little synth hook. Long story short, I adore this track.
4. (5:45) First Night - High pitched psychological thriller tones. Simple male vocal sample repeats. Picks up a warped, exploratory feel. Some cool bass textures later on but a little short on ideas in general.
5. (5:47) ** Forgotten - Faint, loping drum machine beat. Gets spacey…then a more cleanly defined beat comes to the fore. Has the feel of speeding up and slowing down (although the tempo doesn’t change). Cool echoey vocals.
6. (4:34) *** Selfish - The stark jungle/grime jam of the album. Just some filthy dirty drum sounds. Soft vocal sample floats around the beat. Awesome fooling around with 808 drum machine in the second half…almost upbeat/poppy
7. (6:16) **** On My Mind - Wandering, moaning ambient. Sweet sort of tribal-electro beat. Gorgeous synth chime. Mid-tempo and contemplative. Ends cold at 6:10.
8. (5:04) Repetitive drum phrase. Barren voices. Goes nowhere in 5 minutes…
9. (6:07) ***** Too Many Voices - Yes hell yes Andy. Tender female vox. Then suddenly a blast of Kate Bush-esque backing vocals. Totally carried by this simple arrangement but absolutely emotive and wonderful and creative. Very different feel from the rest of the album but what an amazing final track. Big favorite.

Track Listing
1. Waiting For You   5. Forgotten
2. Butterflies   6. Selfish
3. New Romantic   7. On My Mind
4. First Night   8. Over
  9. Too Many Voices